Books
Comment 1

Hello world!

So for my first foray into the world of the blog, I am going to write about a series of books I just finished reading…in four days. It was that good. Yes you guessed it, The Hunger Games.

20120331-224053.jpg

I have noticed that lots of people are writing about this at the moment. And yes, I’ll admit that my interest was piqued in the book due to the hype surrounding the film. While I resisted for a few weeks, my curiosity got the best of me. I downloaded it to my iPad and dove into the world of Panem…

The first thing I will say about it, is that it is (in my opinion) FAR superior to Twilight and any comparisons to that particular franchise should only be film related (except maybe for the love triangle). By that I mean in terms of the hype generated and the fact that it is a series of films. Aside from this, I don’t believe that they are in anyway similar. Where Twilight is largely fantasy based, The Hunger Games is set in (potentially) the not too distant future and I don’t think that it would be an exaggeration for me to say that it is a future that could potentially happen.
The plot is well thought out and while the concept itself may not be entirely new, the characters and and the story itself are enriched enough to stop you thinking “I’ve read/seen something like this before”. It’s shout typical oppressed vs the Man type story, but don’t let this fool you into thinking that is like everything similar that you know of.
It’s hard not to feel personally involved with the three main protagonists. To feel the inner conflict and turmoil the Katniss feels not only towards her entire life, but towards the two young men that declare their love for her at the same time – I wouldn’t be able to choose between them either. If you are female, it will be very difficult for you not to fall in love with Peeta (as I have) or with Gale if you prefer a real manly man.
The characters are all well developed and believable and you quickly become attached – even to those that are less likable than the three mains, such as Haymitch and Effie (read the book and you’ll know what I mean). Even those characters that don’t appear until late in the series are hard not to like and quickly become attached to.

I could go on all day about how amazing this series was and how emotionally involved I became immersed in the story. But I worry that if I do I’ll build it up too much and you’ll expect too much from it – though I think it would meet your expectations anyway, no matter how high they are. You should definitely have a read of it yourself. Although it is mostly aimed at the mid-teen audience, the themes and situations that it deals with are by no means restricted to that audience. So here’s my summary:

RATING – 9 out of 10. I’m not giving it a ten because the last book made me cry too much.

WHO SHOULD READ IT – Just about everyone. Guys if you think it’s a bit too lovey dovey for you, you’re wrong. There’s enough action (of the fighting kind)in there to keep you occupied.

WHO YOU’LL LOVE – Personally, I loved Peeta. A kind soul who would do just about anything for anyone.

Now all that’s left is for me to watch the movie – hopefully the rest of the world hasn’t hyped it up too much for me!!!

This entry was posted in: Books

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: The Bits & Books Blogiversary (GIVEAWAY ALERT)! | Bits & Books

Write Your Thoughts Here

