Awards
Comments 9

The Beautiful Blogger Award

What a lovely surprise I got yesterday morning when I went to my blog and found that I had been nominated for the Beautiful Blogger award. Many thanks to What Jane Read Next for nominating me (make sure that you go check out her blog before you continue here. A very entertaining blog and I will definitely continue to read). I always see these little blogging awards on people’s pages and now I have one all for my very own. I think I’ll call him George…

So, apparently these awards have some rules attached. I have to mention the person who nominated me (please see above – and thanks again), I have to “pay it forward” and nominate 7 other people for the award and I have to tell you all 7 things about myself. So, I think that I’ll start with the stuff about myself. I apologise in advance if you get bored – I’m really not that interesting!

  1. I have recently started using Twitter and I have to say that I just don’t get it. Hashtags and @’s are the least of my problems though. I can’t seem to write a message that conveys exactly what I want in the amount of characters I’m given. Perhaps I should look at it as a good way to be more concise with my writing.
  2. I love to cook. On top of that I love to eat the things I cook. I’m not talking about your usual mid-week dinners either, you know, meat and 3 veg. I’m talking about delicious cakes and beautiful home-made meat pies with meat that has been cooked slowly for a couple of hours before it goes into the oven. When you eat the meat it just falls apart in your mouth without even biting. Oh dear, just drooled on my keyboard a little bit.
  3. I write far more eloquently than I speak. I have unfortunately grown up at a time when “like” is used far more in a sentence that what is required. For example, “I was like, whatever”. I panic a little bit when I hear myself use it in this way and later I try to think of better words that could have been used. But thinking about it, in this age of Facebook, Twitter and blogging, “like” is probably one of the most used words going around.
  4. I have a tendency to turn words around and say them backwards, like this – Siht tsop si tuoba ym noitanimon rof eht Lufituaeb Reggolb Drawa. If you can decipher this it apparently means that you are a genius, just like me! Leonardo Da Vinci wrote backwards too.
  5. I also like to add up all the numbers in phone numbers (and sometimes the time) and keep adding until I reach a single digit. Weird, right?
  6. I secretly love singing along to One Direction songs, even though I am well and truly past the age where I should be liking boy bands (my iPod also holds songs by The Backstreet Boys, Five, Westlife, N*Sync and a couple of other boy bands that had one hit song each).
  7. I never borrow books from libraries or buy from second-hand shops. Why? First of all, I don’t know where they’ve been or who has touched them. I’m not germaphobic or anything, but the amount of hands they may have passed through gets my imagination running wild. Secondly, I love knowing that I am the first person to have read that particular book and I love that new smell that comes with it.

Now to nominate some lovely people who make my day brighter when they blog.

  1. wantoncreation – always writes about really interesting stuff and it is a real pleasure to read his posts. I wish had half your talent!
  2. Abe Pacana Photography Blog – takes the kind of photos I wish I could take. If I practiced photography more and read less books, I might be able to take shots like this. In the meantime, I’ll just stay jealous!
  3. Gin & Lemonade – a very inspirational young lady and I love reading stories about her every day life.
  4. Münchow’s Creative Photo Blog – another great photography blog that I discovered only recently. All his photos show life as it is.
  5. LadyRomp – I love reading about the Inspirational Woman of the Day. I’ve always thought I could do (just about) anything I wanted and this blog reaffirms that.
  6. Daisy’s World – this is a blog of beautiful food and beautiful photos that make me think that if I just reach through the screen I’ll be able to grab those eclairs. Instead, I am just left with fingerprints all over my screen.
  7. Catherine, Caffeinated – an extremely witty and very informative blog, also recently discovered. Catherine writes with a tenacity that I love and I wish I was half as bold as her!

So there you have it everyone. The above people should be read, followed and appreciated and definitely far more deserving of the beautiful blogger award than I. Happy reading!!

9 Comments

  1. Pingback: Oh What A Beautiful Morning! | Obscured Dreamer

  2. I loved your facts! I know what you mean with twitter – it took me a long time to get used to it, but I love it now and use it quite a lot. 🙂 I can read that backwards sentence with ease, too….hooray for being geniuses! Hahahaha. And I am almost the same with number 7 – most of my books, perhaps 99.5% are brand new!
    Thank you so much for the kind words about me, too! You are very sweet, and you are much more talented yourself than you seem to think you are! 🙂

    Like

    • Hey thanks! I thought I sounded a little bit deranged myself, but I think that all geniuses are a little bit deranged! I think I might try and write a whole post backwards one day, just to see if I can do it more than for any other reason. Keep your eyes peeled for that one!

      I’m sorry that you now have another award post to write – I noticed that you have a few outstanding to get through, but I guess another one won’t hurt. Should keep you out of mischief!

      Like

      • Hahaha, I think all geniuses certainly seem a little bit deranged – whether or not they actually are is another matter entirely! 😛
        And no need to apologise about the awards – I love getting them and am completely flattered that anyone would actually think my silly ramblings worthy of them, so honestly, just thank you, it means a lot! 🙂

        Like

        • No problemo! But it think that you’ll run out of awards to be nominated for soon!

          Like

  3. weatheranchormama says

    I totally agree with you on the library books. I think I’m a germaphobe.

    Like

    • I will admit that I have bought exactly 2 secondhand books in the last couple of years. But I bought them off ebay and they came from overseas. So I never saw the exact spot they came from, so that makes me feel a little bit better!

      Like

  4. Congratulations with your award. It was fun, too, to read the seven things about yourself. Adding numbers the way you do, is an old tradition within code languages. Finally thank you for passing the award onto me. I am very honoured.

    Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

