Awards, Books, Reading
Comments 4

Booker Award

I’m starting to feel a little bit like Michael Phelps these days, what with the all the award nominations I’ve received. Actually, I have received nowhere near as many nominations as he has won gold medals, but I still feel pretty damn special! So I’d like to thank the ever so kind Wanton Creation for nominating me for this award. It is by far my favourite so far! Here are the rules:

1.  Nominate other blogs, as many as you want but 5-10 is always a good suggestion.  Don’t forget to let your recipients know.
2.  Post the Booker Award picture.
3.  Share your top 5 books of all time

I’ll start with my favourite books of all time. This is an ever-changing list and there are so many books that I love that it is impossible to narrow it down to 5. So I’ll just list the first 5 that come to mind (but there is probably closer to 20 or 30 that could be on this list).

  1. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card –I just finished reading this book for only the second time in my life, but I really do love it. If you click on the link you can read the review I wrote about it (a shameless plug, I know).
  2. Harry Potter series by J K Rowling– Show me a person who has read this series and not liked it, and I will show you a liar.
  3. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows – I have only just read this one very recently (for the first time), but I am 100% confident that this will be a favourite of mine for a long time to come.
  4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – I’ve read this a few times in the last couple of years. It’s a great book to read when you have nothing else to read.
  5. Seven Years in Tibet by Heinrich HarrerI saw the film adaptation of this (starring Brad Pitt) before I read the book. I’m actually not even sure how the book found its way into my hands. It’s a second-hand copy that has become very dear to me and I’ve probably read this more times than any other book I own. It is the true account by Heinrich Harrer of his attempt to climb Everest, just before the outbreak of World War II. After escaping from a POW camp, he finds himself in Tibet (for seven years funnily enough). In his time there he befriends the young Dalai Lama (the current Dalai Lama as a boy) and provides an interesting insight into the life of His Holiness.

Now, since this is the “thinking blogger’s” award (in my opinion), I’m nominating five blogs that will get you thinking about stuff.

  1. SimplePolitiks
  2. newsofthetimes
  3. seventhvoice
  4. iamzion
  5. All that I am, all that I ever was
4 Comments

  1. Pingback: Travel Photo of the Year Contest and the Booker Award | newsofthetimes

Write Your Thoughts Here

