Books, Reading, Review
Comments 13

The Night Circus

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern is one of those great books about magic. The main reason that I read (copiously) is to escape the doldrums of day-to-day life, so reading about magic aids in the escape and for just a little while, the inconsiderate woman next to me on the train isn’t dictating all her text messages (as opposed to typing them – my sincerest thanks to Apple for creating Siri), she’s just a component of the real world that I’m not really interested in. I found my self completely immersed in The Night Circus, that not only had some magic, but also an interesting story line with some pretty good characters.

The story revolves around Celia and Marco – pitched into a contest against each other by their respective mentors. Celia has been born with the natural skill of magic, while Marco has had to study to gain his skills. The Night Circus itself is created as the venue for the contest and the magic of the game soon spills over into the lives of all involved with the Circus, sometimes with disastrous consequences – but that is the nature of the game.

But as great as the story was, the Circus itself is what I loved the most about this book. I feel like the circus created by Morgenstern, is precisely what a circus should be. There is an air of mystery and intrigue about it and it is almost dream like. Things occur there that couldn’t possibly happen anywhere else and once you leave you immediately want to return. Illusionists, contortionists, fortune tellers, acrobats and tents full of wonderful and wondrous things – this is the circus that everyone dreams of. Morgenstern has done a wonderful job of creating it. It has none of the usual silly looking clowns and animals in cages – this circus has been created with elegance and drama.

I think that the only thing I didn’t like was the jump forward in time every now and then as I constantly found myself flicking back to the start of the previous chapter to see how many years ahead we have advanced, only to go back in time at the start of the following chapter. I did get a bit confused at first – I think the whole thing would have worked just as well if it was kept completely in chronological order, but it’s not a big issue. Overall, the book is very well written and what the story lacks every now and then is made up for with the setting for the story. I really look forward to reading some more work by this author.

RATING – 8 out of 10.

WHO SHOULD READ IT – The book occasionally reminded me of the film The Prestige (starring Hugh Jackman and Christian Bale), so if you like that film, I think you will like this book. Having said that though, I believe most people would like it as there is something for just about everybody.

WHO YOU’LL LOVE – I really liked Poppet and Widget, but I believe the character of Bailey might resonate the most with people – he is someone that can be surrounded by many people and still feel alone, something that I think we have all felt at one time or another.

**I know that there are a couple of bloggers that have read this quite recently (poindextrix and The Other Watson, I’m looking at you). Now that I have read this I would be very interested to hear your thoughts in more detail 🙂 **

13 Comments

  1. This is my favourite read of the year, so far. Not my usual, but as I’ve said, I don’t remember what my usual is. Needs a sequel, or a series. I read an interview with EM where she said not every book needs a sequel. I’d agree, but I’d love to see this story carried on. Or at least a Poppy and Widget spin-off!

    Lorna

    Like

    • I agree. I loved it so much I made my boyfriend read it and it’s completely NOT what he’s into (think spies and crime and The Bourne books) and even he loved it.
      I’m not sure how you could really do a sequel with this book – but a spin off with the twins would be great I think. Or she could write a prequel about Tsukiko and her own competition. That would be pretty cool I think. I found her a very intriguing character!

      Like

  2. Pingback: The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern « Reading The Bookers

  3. poindextrix says

    Haha. I’m glad you enjoyed it. I do love the touch of whimsy and magic that books like these bring into our world. I realized that my review of this was on my old blog, but I think I’ve decided that some books (like this one) warrant re-posted reviews, so that’ll happen in the near future.

    I had no idea they were making a movie out of it. I think that if they do it right, that could be fantastic. I look forward to see how it’ll come together.

    Like

  4. I am still reading it (I know, I’m a bit slow at the moment), but I most certainly will blog about it when I’m done. About halfway through and loving it! 🙂

    Like

  5. reading7mandy says

    Loved Loved Loved The Night Circus. I had read an Advanced Readers Copy of it and it was painful waiting for it to come out in stores so I could begin recommending it. I hope to see another book just as well written from the author.
    http://reading7mandy.wordpress.com/

    Like

    • I think it’s one of those books where it’s very difficult to find something wrong with it. I also discovered today that they are adapting it into a film – apparently the person writing the screenplay is the same one that did the screenplay for Jane Eyre (with Mia Wasikowska and Michael Fassbender). I was thinking as I read it that it would be a great film, so I am really looking forward to seeing what they do with it. Hopefully it stays reasonably true to the book!

      Like

      • reading7mandy says

        I look forward to the movie as well. Seeing some of the magic put on film would be amazing. But they will have to keep it close to the book. If they don’t it could ruin it entirely.

        Like

        • reading7mandy says

          That’s going to be the hardest part for me because not everyone sees the characters in the same way.

          Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

