Food
Comments 9

Homemade Lemonade.

Kris Kringle: a joy when you get someone who you know lots about, a nightmare if you haven’t a clue about them. Luckily for me, my Kris Kringle this year is an awesome person  (hello if you are reading this) who I know a fair bit about. I was very happy when I found out that I would be buying a gift for her, as she is an easy person to buy for. But funnily enough, I couldn’t think of anything to get for her. But then I came across a recipe for homemade lemonade and along with that, I bought a bunch of other little food things and I made my own little hamper for her – it’s amazing how far you can stretch $30 when you really try, and I think that adding something homemade is a nice touch. So here is the recipe I found, in this years Australian Women’s Weekly Christmas magazine. Including prep, it’ll take about 15mins to make, plus cooling time.

Love my red juicer.

Love my red juicer.

HOMEMADE LEMONADE (makes about 3 cups)

Ingredients

  • 4 cups caster sugar
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice

Place the sugar and water in a large saucepan and over a low heat, dissolve the sugar, stirring constantly. Make sure you brush down the sides of the pan with a wet pastry brush as you go to prevent sugar crystals. Once the sugar has dissolved, increase the heat to medium then leave to simmer for about 5 minutes without stirring. Then remove from heat and allow to cool. Once cooled,stir through lemon juice, then strain into sterilized bottles.

I deviated a little from the recipe here – you’re meant to leave the syrup to cool completely, but I left mine for about half an hour (the pan was just warm to touch), then stirred the lemon juice through, before pouring into warm bottles. I sampled some last night and it tastes lovely. So I think that if you just leave the syrup to cool to a temperature that isn’t boiling hot, you’ll be fine. But next time I make it, I will leave it to cool completely to see if there is a difference.

Once made, make sure it is kept refrigerated and to use it, simply stir through two tablespoons of syrup into a glass of iced water or mineral water. Yummy on a hot summer day like the ones we have been experiencing here in Sydney!

Lemonade syrup.

Lemonade syrup.

To store it, I found these great little 250ml swingtop bottles. They are the perfect size to give as a Kris Kringle gift. These ones were $2.50 each and I found them at a website called Pack My Product. They have stacks of different jars and bottles, so you’ll be spoilt for choice.

Lemonade3

The swing tag is hand made, as I couldn’t find anything like this in any stores I visited. I just bought some brown cardboard, drew the shape I wanted and using the magic of scissors, cut out the shape. I think it’s pretty cute! On the reverse of the tag, I put storage instructions and serving instructions.

So if you’re stuck for a Kris Kringle gift, why not make something yourself? There are plenty of little things like this you can make. You will be able to stretch your Kris Kringle budget a lot further and the person receiving will appreciate your gift that much more (at least I hope so!!).

9 Comments

  1. You’re so sweet, to give something homemade! Sometimes buying presents is really easy, but a gift from the heart means just as much — if not more! I can’t wait to get lemons from my parents’ tree and make some lemonade too.

    Like

    • Thanks 🙂
      I like giving homemade things, I think it’s a bit more special because you haven’t just gone and plucked something off a shelf.
      I will be making this all summer I think!

      Like

        • What will you make? I was thinking about painting mugs with porcelain chalkboard paint so that they could draw little designs on the sides while they drank their tea and coffee. But I can’t find the paint in-stock in any stores!

          Like

        • That’s a really cool idea. Here in Australia I know they sell it at most hardware stores, I’ve always wanted to try it. Maybe I’ll make little mugs like that next year!
          I’m mostly doing food. I made some raspberry vinegar last weekend, as well as some Christmas puddings. I’m going to try and make some biscotti as well and some flavoured salt rubs (for bbqing and stuff). I also bought some really nice garlic infused olive oil, so I’m going to try and make some fresh bread on Christmas eve to pop in the hampers so they can dip it in the oil. Basically I’ve set myself too much work to do!!

          Like

        • I hadn’t thought of hardware stores; I was mainly checking craft stores. Thanks for the tip!

          Yum, I’d love to be in your family! Despite all of the work, they’ll really appreciate it, I’m sure. How hard is it to make raspberry vinegar? I’ve seen apple cider vinegar and other fruit flavors in the supermarket, but they’re always so expensive. I’d love to try making flavored salt too!

          Like

        • Well I hope you can find some. Those mugs are a really great idea. Any other ideas I can be inspired by?
          Raspberry vinegar is really easy. You get 500g frozen raspberries, put them in glass mixing bowl and pour over 2 cups of red wine (or white) wine vinegar, then let it sit overnight. The next day, you strain the mixture into a large jar, put in some sugar (I can’t remember exactly how much – I’ll get back to you) then put the jar in a big soup pot with enough water to go halfway up the sides of the jar. Then you let it simmer for an hour. It’s pretty tasty and it’s a really nice red colour. You can use it in salads as a dressing (though I haven’t tried that) and you can also put it in mineral or soda water to make a raspberry drink. My boyfriend drizzled some over ice cream too and said that he loved it, so I guess you can use it as a dessert topping too!

          Like

        • Wow, that sounds amazing! Maybe I’ll give the raspberry vinegar a try if I can’t find the paint. (Especially if it can be used on desserts too!)

          That’s the cutest one I have right now, but I actually got a lot of my craft idea from Pinterest. Another cute idea was for making stickers that fit on the bottom of Hershey’s kisses. They’re customizable with cute phrases like “I love you” since you can print them on your own computer. (Almost like conversation hearts at Valentine’s Day!) Another was for baking large cookies and gifting them in paper CD or DVD sleeves. More of a friend or co-worker gift, but still cute with a custom label!

          Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

