Books, Life, Review
Comments 2

Laziness Happens

Enjoying some tea

Just enjoying some tea while I rediscover my blogging feet. Like my cup?

I’ve been really slack at keeping up with my blogging lately and honestly, I don’t even have a good excuse. I’ve just not been bothered! But after flicking through some of the blogs I regularly read (but haven’t been reading lately – sorry!), I realised that I’m not alone in this which made me feel a bit better. It seems as though at some point us bloggers all go through a stage of not being bothered and then we just get back on to it like we never left. So here I am after about 6 weeks.

What have I been doing? Not much of anything really. I did discover Sookie Stackhouse and True Blood. That has taken up WAY too much of my time and I have found that I have become completely and inappropriately obsessed with a certain viking vampire. Fortunately I am also not alone in this (am I right, ladies?). But that’s a post for another time – I promise I’ll give the child friendly version. I also have an actual home office now which has a desk that isn’t cluttered up with rubbish. That’s pretty thrilling. I have a fantastic view to the ugly brick house behind ours which is certainly not the most inspiring thing to look at. But because I’m on the second floor of our house I am at eye level with any of the birds that decide to fly past my  window. They usually land in a tree which is mostly out of view for me, but whatevs. Right now there are some cute pigeons sunning themselves on the roof of the ugly house. That’s pretty fun to watch – birds are always interesting subjects. I’ve also had what I think is a great idea for a story longer than you’re average blog post. I’ve only written just under a thousand words so far, but all reviews so far have been really positive (I’ve had one review, by my boyfriend. He’s probably biased). So I need to get the brain juices flowing if I’m going to get to over a thousand words, hopefully getting myself writing regularly again will reconnect my brain wiring.

Now for the really thrilling stuff! I only have 10 weeks until I head off to Italy and France. That’s really snuck up on me and I still have so much to get sorted. If anyone has anything they can recommend that I should take to Italy and France in October, feel free to let me know in the comments section. I have no idea what to pack. I’ve only ever been overseas twice and both times it was to Thailand. That’s easy to pack for – you just pack for hot weather. More recently (as in last week), I purchased tickets to see Beyoncé in Sydney in November. I’m really excited about seeing her as I’ve never seen her live before and apparently she puts on an amazing show. I even splashed out on the pricier tickets. Which wasn’t the greatest idea considering I’m meant to be saving for 20 days overseas. But I am an expert of living beyond my means and somehow staying out of debt and still having money left over, so I’ll be fine and I’m sure it’ll be worth it when I can shake my thang reasonably close to the stage.

Anyhoo, before I went on my blogging hiatus, the last book I prattled on about was A Suitable Boy by Vikram Seth. I’m not sure if that book has had an affect on my willingness to blog, but it was such a slog of a book, I wouldn’t be surprised if it did. All the books I have read since then have been far easier reading and I haven’t had to use my brain that much. So now over the next few days, I am going to try and catch up on those things I try and pass off as book reviews and I may even cook something to satisfy those of you who are of the foodie persuasion. I do have plans to make my very first macaron tower soon, so you will definitely get to share in that momentous occasion. I have read about 20 books in the last 6 weeks (maybe that’s where my blogging time went to), but lucky for you guys 13 of them were part of one series so I’m going to be lazy and put all of those into one post. And please accept this apology in advance for the inundation of crappy reviews and even worse opinions that will be clogging up your readers and Facebook feeds.

2 Comments

  1. Enjoy your trip! My wife just recently did a tour through Italy, Switzerland and France (10 day Trafalgar Tour) and London for 2 nights. 2.5 weeks with her Mum. First time for them both to travel and it all went well.
    I’m sure you will love it. All the best!

    Like

  2. Haha, you know what? You’re right. I took a break for almost a year and felt extremely guilty about it. And the guilt just made everything so much worse – I couldn’t read, I couldn’t write. Until I finally realised that posting regularly isn’t worth it if you aren’t putting out good content, right? Our blogging friends understand the process better than anybody else, simply because they go through the same thing. They understand what it’s like to need a break.

    What I guess I’m saying is, you shouldn’t feel the need to apologise. Laziness happens. 🙂

    Oh, and have a GREAT trip!

    Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

