Writing
Leave a Comment

Update: Week 2 NaNoWriMo

So another seven days have passed. This week has not gone well on the NaNoWriMo front. I have the inconvenience of having my final essay for my cultural studies class due on Wednesday. So I have been a bit more focussed on that this week, as it’s pretty important I guess. Thankfully though I managed to hit 20,000 words at the end of last weekend which has manage to keep me abreast of the daily word target for most of the week. I had a cheese and wine night with myself last night and did some catch up as I’d fallen below the line, so I am now on target again and aiming to hit 30,000 words by the end of this weekend. As of bed time last night, I was at 23,477 so I need to write less than 7000 words across the weekend to hit my goal. More than achievable as I’ve done nearly 10,000 on both of the last weekends. How’s everyone else doing? We’re halfway through now, feels great doesn’t it?

Now, my Oxford English Dictionary challenge (which you can read about here if so inclined). Little writing this week has meant that I’ve not kept up with all my words. I am determined however, that I will include them all eventually, so there’ll be a few extra in the following posts. But this is what I did include in the last week. I had to jump forward in my story a little in order to include these, but it’s been good actually as I was getting a bit bored where I was at, so I’m feeling refreshed now that the scenery has changed. Right at the bottom of this post, I’ve also included some of the ones I missed, so you can see what I’m up against!

mpret, n., in Albania: a king, a monarch. “She overheard the Albanian say, ‘the mpret had been shot’. What on earth was an mpret and why had it been shot? Something foreign no doubt, which made it inherently bad, and therefore deserving of being shot.” 

riant, adj., of a person or a person’s disposition, actions, etc.: smiling, mirthful, cheerful, light-hearted. ”To him she was a wonderfully cheerful person, always happy and bright in his presence. He liked to call her his rant cloche: his laughing bell.”

pangramn., A sentence or (occas.) verse containing every letter of the alphabet. So I tried to be clever with this one and instead of using the actual word, ‘pangram’, I thought I’d write a pangram to slip into my story. It was all fail, and needs some serious reconsideration and as a side note, it’s a hell of a lot harder than one would think. Whoever came up with “the quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dogs” was obviously a genius! Anyway, here is is (I may have cheated a little): “Roslyn quizzed James about why they couldn’t take their trip: she was as clever as a fox, but he would not be moved on the matter – they would not go to Vienna.”

UPCOMING WORDS: phlegethon, proof, armistice, and periclitation (which doesn’t have anything to do with what you think it might have to do with).

Write Your Thoughts Here

