Books, Reading
Comments 2

Teaser Tuesday – Paradise Lost

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

51uFDkVgMCL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_In attempt to broaden my reading horizons (and hopefully my writing horizons), I’ve recently started reading some poetry. It all started with Shakespeare’s sonnets and has progressed from there. It seemed to me that John Milton’s Paradise Lost needed to be read, so I found myself a really nice (and surprisingly cheap) cloth bound edition and sat it on my bedside table so I could read a few pages each night before I go to sleep. What I’ve discovered: I have to read it out loud quietly to myself in order to read it properly, and that I shouldn’t be allowed to read poetry out loud as I have zero rhythm. But I am hoping that changes as I go along – surely after 288 pages I’ll be an expert. I’m tempted to get an audiobook to listen to as I read, but I’m stubborn and determined to read it myself; it’ll be interesting to see how long that stubbornness lasts. Regardless, I am quite enjoying it, but I can only read a few pages at a time before my mind starts wandering. But I know that when I do eventually finish it in around a year’s time, I’ll have a great sense of achievement! So, here are my two sentences for this week, from John Milton’s Paradise Lost.

So warned he them aware themselves, and soon
In order, quit of all impediment;
Instant without disturb they took alarm,
And onward move embattled; when behold
Not distant far with heavy pace the foe
Approaching gross and huge; in hollow cube
Training his devilish enginery, impaled
On every side with shadowing squadrons deep,
To hide the fraud. At interview both stood
A while; but suddenly at head appeared
Satan: and thus was heard commanding loud.

What are you reading at the moment? Feel free to share some sentences in the comments section.

2 Comments

  1. … No poetry for me :/ as a German student I had enough of Goethe, Schiller and Shakespeare (they are all amazing though) 🙂 Currently Reading “Reality is in a Dream” by Mayhew. I found her on wordpress and she said she wrote book, so I’m giving it a try 😀 cool tag btw I will remember Teaser Tuesday for next week! Thank you!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve only just started reading poetry myself – I’ve not read a lot yet but I have a book of Rilke and one of Petrarch on the way to me in the post, so I’m looking forward to reading those. Goethe is next on my list. And I love Shakespeare’s sonnets.

      Thanks for stopping by – and definitely get in on Teaser Tuesday. It’s great to see what other people are reading and maybe find something new!

      Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

