Books, Reading
Leave a Comment

Teaser Tuesday – The Secret Pilgrim

the-secret-pilgrimTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

This week’s teaser is from John le Carré’s final George Smiley novel, The Secret Pilgrim. So far it’s probably my favourite of the Smiley novels, despite him playing only a minor role – but I’ll leave a more in depth explanation, for my review in a couple of weeks time. What I will say, is that the book has increased my affection for the old spy ten fold, and I am incredibly sad that he will make no more appearances in le Carré’s novels. But now, here are my sentences:

“Haydon looked jauntily at Smiley, but the jaunty look became a chill stare as he waited for Smiley to return it. The rest of us waited too. The embarrassment was that Smiley didn’t return it. He was like a man declining to acknowledge a salute.”

I cheated a bit and did four sentences. If you’ve read Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and know the history between Smiley and Haydon, then you should get a little kick out of the above scene.

Update: read my review of ‘The Secret Pilgrim’ here.

Write Your Thoughts Here

