Blogging, Books, Reading
Comments 11

Epic Reads

A couple of weeks ago a fellow blogger, Brett, tagged me in his Epic Reads blog post. I would highly recommend that if you’re a reader and/or a writer, you go check out his blog here. He has some awesome book reviews, writing tips, writer interviews, and a whole bunch of other stuff. There’s something for everyone! Now with this post I’m meant to answer some questions (below) and then tag some other bloggers in the post so they can answer some questions too. But I think people will get sick of me tagging them soon, so I’m not going to tag anyone in this post. But if you read this, please feel free to answer these questions on your own blog – it’s a great way to keep the blog posts going if you don’t necessarily have anything to write about!

1. If you could invite one author and one their fictional characters to tea, who would you invite and what would you serve them? It would have to be John le Carrè and George Smiley. We would have a fairly basic roast dinner (lamb and vegetables, with gravy of course) and a trifle for dessert – they seem like trifle guys – and all washed down with a good brandy. So the food isn’t that exciting, but the conversation would be wonderful, although the most exciting stuff would be out of bounds because of the whole spy secret thing.Gandalf&Radagast

2. What book do you wish the author would write the prequel for? Has anyone else ever wondered when and how Gandalf learnt his magic? I think that would be amazing to read. It’s not really a prequel, but it would be cool. And, can you imagine him and Radagast at wizard school together? The high jinks they would have got up to!

3. Which two characters (not from the same book) do you think would make a good couple? This was a tough one. I’m going to go with Amadeu de Prado from Night Train to Lisbon and adult Hermione Granger. They are both smart, kind, and passionate about helping others. I think together they could change the world.

4. If you ran into your favourite author on the subway and could only say one sentence to them, who is it and what would it be? If I saw John le Carrè, all I would say is, “Jerry Westerby”, and then I’d shake my head and tut.

TimCatchamouse5. What book made you a reader and why? I honestly can not pinpoint one book that me a reader. My mum was teaching me to read with flashcards before I even started school, so I would have been reading from a super early age. I can’t really remember a time that I wasn’t a reader – I’ve just always been one. I do recall being a big fan of the Puddle Lane books though – they were great for learning to read. Also, the books had a wizard in them, which is pretty epic.

6. Your bookshelf just caught fire! What is the one book you would save? Realistically I would probably be able to save about 90% of them. But if I absolutely had to choose just one, it would probably be my copy of David Attenborough’s Life On Air, signed by the man himself.

7. Which dystopian world would you want to live in and why? I haven’t read that many dystopian novels actually. so I don’t have a lot to choose from, but I think the best one would be the world of Divergent, but before all the bad stuff happens. Or maybe the world of George Orwell’s 1984, because really with technology ruling our lives like it does today, we’re always being watched by “big brother”, so life today isn’t really that different to 1984.

8. What is your most epic read and why? If we’re talking individual books, then it would have to be The Count of Monte Cristo – you can’t beat a book that has love, betrayal, revenge, and adventure. If we’re talking about a series of books, then I’d say J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings trilogy, obviously because it’s amazing.

11 Comments

  1. Thanks for answering these questions; I’m going to use them at some point in the near future on my own blog.

    Like

    • Some of them were really tough. Especially having to pick my most epic read right at the end. It’s very difficult to narrow down. I look forward to reading yours!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for tagging me! I love doing these as well. Tag posts are turning into a weekly thing for me, so I’ll post this one next Saturday 🙂

      Like

  2. brettmichaelorr says

    What an awesome Epic Reads! I would definitely love to read a prequel about Gandalf, maybe when he was just a young man discovering magic.

    And I agree – 1984 probably isn’t that far removed from our normal life anyway; perhaps it’s not quite as authoritarian yet, but the surveillance is much higher than Orwell had predicted.

    Thanks for the awesome recommendation too, and for taking on my tag!

    Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

