Books, Reading
Comment 1

Teaser Tuesday – The Night Manager

9780141393018Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

Surely it’s no secret by now that John le Carré is one of my favourite authors. I might even go so far as to say that he is my absolute favourite author. While I’ve not written any spy novels (although I hope to one day), I’d like to think that his writing has had a small influence on my own. Certainly when I read his books, I am extremely observant of how he writes certain things – I am especially in love with his ability to set a scene and make me feel as though I’m there. So you can imagine my excitement when it was announced that one of his novels, The Night Manager, was being adapted for the small screen and the main roles were to be played by two very excellent actors (Hugh Laurie and Tom Hiddleston). As I’d not read it, I felt it was important to do so prior to watching the tv series. So here I am, reading it and hence it is from this novel that I’ll be sharing my teaser for this week. I’ve only shared one sentence this week as the one I landed on was really long:

“After the Royal & Ancients came Burr’s pet hates, and probably Roper’s too, for he called them the Necessary Evils, and these were the shiny-cheeked merchant bankers from London with eighties striped blue shirts and white collars and double-breasted suits, who said ‘ears’ when they meant ‘yes’ and ‘hise’ when they meant ‘house’ and ’school’ when they meant ‘Eton’; and in their train, the bully-boy accountants – the bean-counters, Roper called them – looking as if they’d come to extract a voluntary confession, with take-away-curry breath and wet armpits, and voices like formal cautions that from here on everything will be taken down and faked in evidence against you.”

What are you reading at the moment? Feel free to share some sentences in the comments section.

Update: Read my review of ‘The Night Manager’ here.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Night Manager’ | Bits & Books

Write Your Thoughts Here

