Blogging, Books, Reading
Comments 5

The Seven Deadly Sins of Reading

I love books and reading. And I love tags about books and reading! So, many thanks to JD over at The Happy Typewriter for tagging me in the ‘Seven Deadly Sins of Reading’ post. Before you read any further in this post, make sure you click on over to her blog and check it out – it’s full of book reviews, writing tips and generally awesome stuff. So do head over there right away.

Now, I’m supposed to tag people in this to answer the questions as well, but these tagging posts are becoming a weekly occurrence for me, and I will run out of bloggers to tag. So if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged and feel free to answer the questions whenever you feel like it! And now to my reading sins (which is a bit of an oxymoron in my opinion).

GREED, defined as: an intense and selfish desire for something.
What is your most expensive book? Hmmm, I think this would be one of two books. The first is a gigantic coffee table book that has all of the artwork of the Vatican Museums in it. I actually went to the Vatican Museum a couple of years ago and they were selling books like the one I have there, but I didn’t have time to get one. So when I got home I came across one online that was even better and I grabbed it. It’s really beautiful. The other book I have is probably more valuable than expensive – it’s a copy of Sir David Attenborough’s Life On Air that has his autograph in it. That makes it priceless in my opinion.

WRATH, defined as: extreme anger.
What author do you have a love/hate relationship with? George RR Martin. JUST FINISH THE DAMN BOOK GEORGE!!

seven_years_tibet_harrerGLUTTONY, defined as: intense over indulgence.
What book have you devoured over and over with no shame? That’s a tough one. I’m trying to read every book in the world before I die, so I don’t have a lot of time to go back and reread books. But the ones I have read the most over the years are Seven Years in Tibet by Heinrich Harrer, and Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen. Oh, and the Harry Potter series – there’s always time for Harry!

SLOTH, defined as: a reluctance to work or make an effort.
What book have you neglected to read due to laziness? Many years ago, when I first started reading Tolkien, I tried to read The Silmarillion, but I think I read maybe 40 pages and gave up (I was probably about 12 at the time). I’ve pushed it to the back of my mind ever since and not wanted to try again, but I think I should give it another go.

PRIDE, defined as: satisfaction derived from one’s own achievements or from qualities or possessions that are most widely admired.
What books do you talk about most in order to sound like an intellectual reader? I don’t think this is really something I do, mostly because I can’t hold an intellectual conversation about a book – I’ve recently decided I hate looking too deeply into books. But if I had to pick one it would probably be the most intellectual book I’ve read, The Surgeon of Crowthorne by Simon Winchester, and that’s not because I want to sound intellectual – it’s because I’m usually recommending it to someone who loves words and who I think would find it interesting (if you’re reading this and you love words, you should read it, I wrote about it here if you’re interested).

LUST, defined as: a strong sexual desire.
What attributes do you find most attractive in male (or female) characters? I honestly couldn’t settle on anything in particular. My taste varies so greatly that I think it could be used as evidence for my split personality. For example, my most favourite male character in anything in recent times, is George Smiley – a short, chubby, glasses wearing, middle aged British spy, with a taste for German literature. But then I also really liked Eric Northman from the Sookie Stackhouse novels – he’s tall, blonde, toned, sassy, and at times cruel, with a taste for blood. I suppose the one thing they have in common is that they are both intelligent and charismatic in their own way.

johnson2ENVY, defined as: a feeling of discontented or resentful longing aroused by someone else’s possessions, qualities or luck.
What book would you most like to receive as a gift? This is going to sound completely nerdy of me, but I would really love to have a copy of Samuel Johnson’s A Dictionary of the English Language. Until the completion of The Oxford English Dictionary 173 years later, Johnson’s dictionary was considered the leading source for the definition of words (his project also gets a mention in The Surgeon of Crowthorne).

What, if any, are your reading sins? Do you have any bad reading habits?

5 Comments

  1. Pingback: The Seven Deadly Sins . . . | Running In My Head

  2. I love your responses; that Vatican book is on my want list!

    Thanks for the tag by proxy; your blog is fast helping me develop my own weekly features 🙂

    Like

    • Glad to hear it! I get it a bit slack with my blogging at times, so it’s nice to do these sort of things just to make sure I keep my posts up. Plus they’re fun!

      The Vatican book is really lovely. It’s called The Vatican: All the Paintings and it’s by Anja Grebe. It comes with a CD catalogue as well which is handy. The book is so massive though I haven’t even gone all the way through it yet and I’ve had it for about 18 months.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

