Books, Reading
Comments 9

Teaser Tuesday – Brisingr

Cover of BrisingrTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

I’ve finally managed to start on book three in Christopher Paolini’s ‘Inheritance Cycle’. This one – with my most favourite cover out of all the books – is called Brisingr, and picks up where we left Eragon and his dragon, Saphira, at the close of Eldest. I’m  finding it a bit slow at the moment but despite this and the fact that I’m only reading it for about half an hour before I go to bed, I’m making pretty good progress! So, here are this week’s sentences:

“The glowing image on the surface of the water flickered and then vanished into darkness as Eragon ended the spell he had used to create it. He leaned back on his heels and gazed up at the multitude of stars, allowing his eyes to readjust to the faint, glimmering light they provided.”

Update: Read my review of ‘Brisingr’ here.

9 Comments

    • I’ve not read any of the Vampire Academy books – is it a really good series? I read the True Blood/Sookie Stackhouse books last year and they started out ok, but got a bit silly as the series progressed.

      Like

  1. “He stared at me very hard. And I understood then how impressionable he was.” This is from “Il Conde” a short story by Joseph Conrad and is part of a short story collection entitled The Shape of Fiction. This a definitely an old school textbook (1967) and contains a few politically incorrect stories–gotta wince at some of Faulkner’s Southern Gothics.

    Like

    • I read Conrad for the first time earlier this year (Heart of Darkness), and I think it’ll be the last time. I found the narrative very hard to read. I’ve not read any Faulkner – this book sounds like it might be interesting though (even if it does have Conrad in it!).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. brettmichaelorr says

    I’m glad you’ve started Brisingr, it’s my favorite in the series! I agree it’s a bit slow to start with, but it’s filled with a more detailed look at the war and the other races’ response to this war. Plus more stuff surrounding the elves and Eragon’s trainer.

    Hope you enjoy it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m hoping it picks up soon. There’s so little happening at the moment that I’ve actually been falling asleep while reading (although that could also be happening because I’ve been super tired lately). But I am very interested to find out more about Oromis and Glaedr, so I hope that happens soon.

      Like

      • brettmichaelorr says

        Hope it gets better for you! Definitely a lot of stuff about Oromis and Glader! ^_^

        Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

