Books, Reading
Comments 8

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Wonder Lover’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

the-wonder-loverFirst of all, feast your eyes upon the glory of this cover. Does it not scream Don Draper? It’s so simple and understated, yet speaks volumes about the content of the novel.
The Wonder Lover isn’t yet available for purchase (it’s released on May 1st in Australia), but I was lucky enough to win a copy of it from Dymocks Books here in Australia, courtesy of the publishers Allen & Unwin (thanks you guys!). I’m only a couple of chapters in, but I’m already completely hooked.  I’ve not read any of Malcolm Knox’s novels before, but I have just been reading some of his articles in one of my university classes (a weird coincidence I thought). It’s pretty safe to say that I’ll be off to get some more of his books sometime in the future – I really enjoy his writing. 

I didn’t want to post any random sentences this week, just in case I spoilt the plot for myself (which is something I accidentally do, all the time). Instead I thought I’d share a passage that appears on one of the first few pages, that I really loved. I’ve also provided a link to the page of the publishers, on which you can find an excerpt of the novel through Google Preview – just click on the cover of The Wonder Lover over on the left, and it will take you to Allen & Unwin. And now, here is the passage I promised:

“Once, out walking at night on a steep rocky path, we complained that we could not see and asked him to carry us. Our father pointed at the moon and said, How far away? We trilled: Three-hundred-and-eighty-four-thousand, four-hundred kilometres. He nodded and said, If you can see that far, you can see the steps under your feet.”

Update: Read my review of ‘The Wonder Lover’ here.

What are you reading at the moment? Share some sentences in the comments section!

8 Comments

  1. Oooh, I like that excerpt. You have me very curious about this book. The plot is so odd. I’m just concerned. Would my feminist self get angry or is it a parody that appeals to my feminist self?

    Like

    • I actually found it really difficult to dislike John Wonder – if anything I sympathised with him a little. I mean, why can we not love and be with more than one person at the same time if that love is real? Not that that’s my thing, but it did get me wondering at how things like this are labelled either right or wrong. I will admit I did think his reasoning for his actions was a bit cowardly, but for me it was less about the lying and perceived cheating aspect, and more about the human obsession with categorising everything.
      I think you’ll be a bit conflicted by the ending, but I’m not sure how else it could have ended.

      Like

  2. YOUR BLOG IS ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL! Just thought you should know that.

    Are you open to review requests? I would be so freaking thrilled to have my book on your site!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Check Out This Beautiful Blog! | daniel waltz

Write Your Thoughts Here

