Books, Reading
Comments 2

May Reads and Reviews

So I’m really digging this whole plan ahead my reading thing – if only I could somehow figure out a way to get this organised in all other aspects of my life. But prioritising has never been my strong suit – doing things at the last minute has. April was pretty crazy in terms of reading. I read six books, which might not be a lot compared to some people, but that’s still more than a book a week. Which is pretty good I think. I’m currently sitting at 26 books read for the year, so I’ve officially hit the halfway mark for my Goodreads reading goal of 52 books (I’m about 9 books ahead at the moment – go team!). I managed to get through all the books I’d planned to read for the month (in this post here), and I got all reviews except one posted. Although I did read two extra books and review one I hadn’t planned on, so that evens things out. Obviously this planning thing agrees with me … but only in this area of my life. So what am I reading this month?

I’ve set myself four books again, but it’s a bit of a mixed bag. The first one, Chavasse, Double VC, is a biography I’m reading both for pleasure and research, and is about a doctor in WW1 who is one of only three men to be awarded the Victoria Cross twice. What I know of his story so far is absolutely incredible and I can honestly say that he was the embodiment of a true hero. The second book is by one of my favourite Aussie authors, Peter Carey, and is one I picked up for FREEEE as someone was just giving books away. True History of the Kelly Gang is a book I’m looking forward to reading, but being a Booker Prize winner, I know that I will either love it or hate – there’ll be no in between. Next, I’m heading back to the Cold War era, with Tom Rob Smith’s thriller, Child 44 – I’m probably most excited to read this above the others, and I hope it’s as good as I think it’s going to be. Finally, I’ve got something completely out of the ordinary from what I’d normally read; Christine Kenneally’s The Invisible History of the Human Race is a bit of a sciencey sort of book, which really is not my thing at all, but regardless I’m looking forward to reading it as it sounds pretty interesting.

MayReads

UPCOMING REVIEWS Airmail: Women of Letters – I’ve just finished this one and I’m really excited to share it. There’s something in this collection of letters for everyone; it’s called “Women of Letters”, but really it should be called “People of Letters”. After reading it you’ll probably be inspired to do something you wouldn’t normally do – I was, and I did.
Inheritance – after what seems like a forever of reading, I finally got to the end of Christopher Paolini’s ‘Inheritance Cycle’ after purchasing the books six years ago and then never actually reading them (this is why I need to plan, you guys).
The Girl in the Photograph – this is one I was meant to write the review for last month, but I never got around to it. Hopefully I’ll get to it this month (if I don’t I’ll have to reread it).

Then I’ll hopefully post reviews for some of the books mentioned above, as well as posting my usual random Saturday post about whatever I can think to write about. Along with final assessments to do for university, it’s going to be a pretty busy month. I really need to work on that whole prioritising thing!

What are you planning on reading this month? 

2 Comments

  1. Congrats on reading so much! I think 5 books in a month is a feat. I’m glad you’re into the book scheduling stuff. I definitely like to do it like as an activity. It’s the sticking to it that I have trouble with. I’m excited to hear what you think of Invisible History of the Human Race. I keep picking it up and putting it back down every time I see it at the library, because I don’t normally read sciencey stuff. You’ll be the deciding factor on whether or not I read it haha. PRESSURE.

    Like

    • I don’t normally plan my reading, but with everything else I have to do at the moment it’s helping make sure I keep posting on my blog regularly. Also, it’s nice not to have to debate with myself over what to read next!
      I’m really hoping I like History of the Human Race – I’ve been looking forward to reading it for ages. Fingers crossed it doesn’t have too much technical jargon in it.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

