Books, Reading
Comments 6

A-Z Book Survey

Erika The Bibliophile did this on her blog a couple of weeks ago, so I thought I’d give it a go too. I think this is one of those posts in which I am supposed to make a few people’s lives miserable by tagging them in it so they have to do it as well. But I’m not going to do that. If you read this, you’re tagged. And you have to do it … Kidding. You don’t have to do it if you don’t want, but I know you want to.

Author you’ve read the most books from: I’d like for it to be an author I really love, but it’s not. It’s Charlaine Harris. But only because I was silly enough to read the entire Sookie Stackhouse series which went for 13 books. I should have stopped after the fifth one.
Best Sequel Ever: Seriously? How can anyone answer that? I’m not even going to try. I’m sorry.

cover-true-historyCurrently Reading: True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey (I wrote this post before I actually started reading it, so I have no opinions at the moment, but I’m sure it’s great).
Drink of Choice While Reading: Well I’m usually drinking a coffee when I read on the train in the morning, but then if I’m sitting up at night reading I might have a glass of wine, or a cup of tea. So I guess it depends on the time of day and what mood I’m in.
Ereader or Physical Book? I will forever have a preference for physical books. But e-readers do have their merits – they are good space savers and the eBooks are generally cheaper. But they will never beat the feel and smell of a real book.
Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School: This is a tough one because I didn’t exactly date in high school (cue shocked gasps) (but not really) and when I look back on the guys I “like liked”, I wonder what on earth I was thinking. But if I’d been at school with George Smiley I think we could have been great nerdy little friends and then who knows what might have happened later in life. We probably would have just stayed friends.

wonderAussieGlad You Gave This Book A Chance: Wonder by R.J. Palacio. I was super lucky to pick up a hard cover of this in the bargain bin at my book shop – only $5! The reduced sticker had me sceptical, but it turned out to be one of the most heart warming books I’ve read.
Hidden Gem Book: Seven Years in Tibet by Heinrich Harrer. Yes Brad Pitt was in the movie adaptation and yes it was amazing, but the book is incredible and is a beautiful story of friendship.
Important Moment in your Reading Life: Learning how to read was a pretty big moment. Actually that’s probably the biggest because ever since I could read I’ve been devouring books.
Just Finished: Chavasse Double VC by Ann Clayton. I can’t write too much about this one because it makes me really emotional. But it’s a biography that should be read if you want a bit of perspective in your life.
Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: I can’t say I’ve ever read erotica and I probably won’t. I’m not really into a lot of sex in most books unless it’s absolutely crucial to the plot, which most of the time it isn’t. And if it’s written poorly it can ruin a book.

WarAndPeaceLongest  Book You’ve Read: War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy. At 1392 pages it is physically the longest book I’ve ever read, and also the longest in terms of it felt like it literally took forever to read.
Major book hangover because of: Definitely Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. But who didn’t have a hangover after reading that?
Number of Bookcases You Own: Only one and it’s quite small, but the space in it is utilised to it’s fullest extent. But I can probably only get maybe half a dozen more books in there, so I may have to go shopping for a new one soon.
One Book You Have Read Multiple Times: It’s a four way tie between Tinker Tailor Soldier SpyPride & PrejudiceSeven Years in Tibet, and all the Harry Potter books.
Preferred Place To Read: I have no preference – I’ll read anywhere. But I mostly read on the train, in bed, in my cushy armchair, or at my desk at work.
Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read: I actually can’t think of one. And even if I could, I have no doubt that it would be equal with a whole bunch of other quotes.
Reading Regret: That I wasted time reading 50 Shades of Grey. I hate even admitting that I read it. I mean, good on E.L. James for getting publishing and making a heap of money, but just because it’s published doesn’t make it good. If anything this book does nothing else but prove that sex sells. Happily, I did not waste my time reading the other two books in the trilogy.
Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series): ’The Dark Tower Series’. The only one I haven’t read is The Wind Through the Keyhole. I bought it the day it came out (in 2012) and it’s been sitting in my TBR ever since. Maybe I’ll get to it this year.

Count of Monte CristoThree of your All-Time Favorite Books: Tinker Tailor Soldier SpyThe Count of Monte Cristo, and all the Harry Potter books.
Unapologetic Fangirl For: John le Carrè and his excellent Cold War era spy fiction (most of which features my aforementioned hypothetical high school boyfriend).
Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others: Of course I’m looking forward to Go Set A Watchman by Harper Lee, but more than that I can’t wait for the next Cormoran Strike novel by Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling, which I think is being released in a few months.

buy-all-the-books-memeWorst Bookish Habit: Buying all the books. I can’t help it. Sometimes I’ll talk myself out of buying a book on impulse, but then I’ll keep thinking about it and won’t be able to stop until I have it in my TBR tower.
X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book: Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes – a book that I truly have zero feelings for. I don’t like it, I don’t hate it, I feel nothing.
Your latest book purchase: 
Chavasse Double VC by Ann Clayton. Really glad I bought it, but don’t know if I could ever read it again as it makes me too sad.
ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late): The last book I fell asleep while reading was The Girl in the Photograph by Kate Riordan. I was reading it on my iPad at the time, which was far less comfy to fall asleep with than an actual book.

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: My Bookshelf A to Z | Running In My Head

  2. Cait says

    BUT WAIT. I’M CONFUSED. How is buying too many books a bad thing?!! 😉 haha. AHEM. This post = wonderful. I’ve seen this tag going around and I kind of want to do it at some point… 😉 Loved your answers and how you read such a diverse range of books! GO YOU.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Paper Fury!

    Like

  3. War and Peace! After seeing it on so many Top Ten Books I’ll Never Read lists last week, I thought that no one had read this one. 😉 Did you enjoy it? The only Tolstoy I’ve read is Anna Karenina and I quite loved that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I was amazed at how many of those lists it appeared on. I actually couldn’t believe how many readers hadn’t read it – I feel like it’s just one of those books you have to read. It’s been years since I read it, but I do know I loved it. It’s very like Anna Karenina in terms of the depth of the characters – they are so complete you’d think they were real people you know (Andrei Bolkonsky is my favourite). It’s also very heavy on the politics of the time – I felt a lot of it was more an expression of Tolstoy’s own feelings rather than really being anything to do with the narrative. I did find myself skipping over a lot of this as it went for a crazy amount of pages each time, but I lost nothing of the plot in doing this. I do want to reread it one day and not skip these bits though.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

