Books, Reading
Comments 3

Teaser Tuesday – ‘True History of the Kelly Gang’

cover-true-historyTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

This week’s Teaser Tuesday sentences come from 2001’s Booker Prize winner, True History of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carey. This is the book that earned Carey his second Booker Prize (after 1988’s Oscar and Lucinda) and I can see why – the writing is interesting and completely unlike anything I’ve read, and I’m finding myself sympathising with Ned Kelly, Australia’s most infamous outlaw. But as with all Booker winners, you’ll either love it or you’ll hate it – there’s very little middle ground. I am firmly in the camp of the former. But I’ll save all of that for my review, and leave you with my sentences for now. FYI the lack of punctuation below is exactly as it is in the book.

“I lost my own father at 12 yr. of age and know what it is to be raised on lies and silences my dear daughter you are presently too young to understand a word I write but this history is for you and will contain no single lie may I burn in Hell if I speak false.
God willing I shall live to see you read these words to witness your astonishment and see your dark eyes widen and your jaw drop when you finally comprehend the injustice we poor Irish suffered in this present age.”

Update: Read my review of ‘True History of the Kelly Gang’ here.

3 Comments

  1. I thought this was great too and had a bit of a Peter Carey binge for a while, my favourite though is Jack Maggs, such a well drawn out character, a bit of an adventure, historical references, it just has it all, though little hype, it’s one of his gems.

    Like

    • I haven’t read Jack Maggs, but I’ll definitely get to it one day. I really like Peter Carey’s writing. I think the most interesting aspect of it is that it’s so different between books. If you read enough of a writer’s work, you can see their style and you just know it’s them. But he really changes the narrative style to match the book and the characters. Just amazing.

      Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

