Photography, Photos
Comments 11

Stuff I Did – More Photos From Melbourne

Last weekend I posted about how my mum and I went to Melbourne to see the World War One Centenary Exhibition at the Melbourne Museum. If you missed that post, you can see it here. But I took some photos of other stuff while I was there and thought I’d share them. I’d never been to Melbourne before that weekend, even though it’s only about an hour and a half on a plane to get there.

It’s a pretty nice place, but I think you need a local to take you around and show you all the best spots. But it’s one of those places that always seems to has something to take a photo of. Look up and there’s a cool building. Look down and there’s something interesting on the footpath. Then there’s the stuff straight ahead, side to side, and behind you. It’s actually a feast for your eyes. We weren’t there long so we didn’t get to see a lot, but I’d definitely like to go back at some point and see some more of it.

11 Comments

  1. Pingback: July on bitsnbooks | bitsnbooks

  2. Lovely lovely lovely! I’m thinking about WWOOFing in Australia or New Zealand in October now that I’m graduated and my life is my own. Might be a little bit out of my price range, though.

    Like

    • I just had to google WWOOFing. I’ve never heard of it but it looks like it would be fun. It is kind of expensive here. I know flights to and from here get a bit pricey because we’re a million miles away from the rest of the world, but the regional areas definitely have a lower cost of living than the cities. You’re lucky though as the USD is pretty strong against the AUD. You should do it. But as much as I love Australia, you should go to New Zealand, because then you can see Hobbiton. That would be cool (if you’re into that).

      Like

    • You’re so right about the old and new. I thought it was nice that the older buildings weren’t completely overshadowed by the new; they sort of complemented each other.
      And yes to the weather. I don’t hate the cold myself, it was just the wind that bothered me more than anything else.

      Like

    • Hahaha. Don’t get me wrong, I like the cold. In fact, I prefer it to the heat. Maybe what I should have been more specific and mentioned the wind. THAT I definitely don’t like.

      But I definitely think newbies to the city would benefit from having a local to show them around. And there are amazing things to see, literally in every direction. I loved the contrast of the old buildings with the modern.

      Like

      • True. Wind is worse. I’m a bit of casual cyclist and I hate riding in the wind. There’s some beautiful old/new mixes all over Melbourne. I walk through the botanic gardens on my way to work and there’s a few angles where you can see the tower of Government House in line with a brand spanking new apartment building in Southbank. I’m still trying to find a good angle from which to photograph. I’m never satisfied! Do you watch Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries on ABC? Lots of those locations around Melbourne are amazing.

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’ve seen a few episodes of it but it’s been ages. I do remember thinking the house she lives in (in the early episodes at least – don’t know if it’s changed) was really beautiful. I think next time I go I’ll definitely go when it’s a bit warmer!

          Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

