Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Leave a Comment

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Invisible History of the Human Race’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

invisible historyMy teaser sentences this week are from a book that’s very different to what I would normally read.  The Invisible History of the Human Race by Christine Kenneally is all about how DNA and history shapes who we are and what we’ll be. I’m not against non-fiction by any means, but generally my non-fiction reading doesn’t extend past reading biographies. But I’ve always been a little interested about how each of us becomes who and what we are, both through societal influences and all the stuff inside us. So when I saw this book I thought I’d check it out, and I’m really glad I did as it’s speaking to that part of me that just needs to know the past and its impact on the future. At the moment this book is just about everything I was hoping for. Anyway, enough waffling from me, here are the sentences:

“For most of us the horizon extends forward maybe two  generations and back just two or three. It is hard to break out of the mind-set that we stand at a crucial centre point of that span and that all the people who came before were merely precursors to us.”

What are you reading at the moment? Feel free to share some sentences in the comments section, or link to your own Teaser Tuesday post!

Write Your Thoughts Here

