Blogging, Books, Reading
Comments 4

June Reads and Reviews

I am so excited for June. It marks the start of a break in my studies, which I don’t really want to take. But my brain has been a bit mushy lately, and I’ve been studying and working full time for the last year without a break (as well as blogging and sporadically writing), so I feel like I need to give it a rest for a while. There’s so many things I’m looking forward to do on weekends that I haven’t been able to because of my studies. Having a sleep in is foremost of these. My birthday is also coming up this month. The big 3-0 (although my occasional childishness would suggest that I’m much younger [I think?]). When I reflect on some of the stupid things I’ve done in recent years, it’s good I made it to 30, so go Team Me. I’m not nearly as petrified of turning 30 as I think I should be, but I’m sure I will imagine a few wrinkles over the next couple of weeks, so it’ll be fun to see how much I’m freaking out when the big day arrives.

Anyway, to the less scary stuff. What am I reading this month? Well taking a break in my studies means that I will have some extra time for reading and cooking (and eating). So this month I’ve got six books on my list, most of which are NetGalley reads. The Book of Speculation is first cab off the rank. I was really excited to be OK’d for this one on NetGalley – it’s a book about a book which is always a win in my opinion! I’ve been reading lots of stuff lately that makes me cry, so hopefully this will be a bit less emotional for me. Rhymes of Early Jungle Folk is a children’s book (an attempt to cling to my disappearing youth?) and is a soon to be released replica of a book originally published in 1922. I saw it on NetGalley and thought I’d try something a bit different. Then we have The Miniaturist – I AM BEYOND EXCITED FOR THIS ONE. I saw the cover for it and after reading the blurb, I immediately added it to my TBR on Goodreads. Then the very next day I won a signed copy from Dymocks – my favourite bookshop. If you were in doubt about the super power I first wrote about here (you’re looking for no.10 in the ’11 Facts About Myself’ section), doubt no more. It’s real you guys. The Secret Speech is the second book in the Leo Demidov trilogy by Tom Rob Smith. I am completely enamoured with the character of Leo, and I’m interested to see where Mr Smith takes him next. The final two books are really just an excuse for me to cook stuff, eat (I’m nothing if not honest) and take some photos.

JuneReads

UPCOMING REVIEWS
Chavasse: Double V.C.I basically spent the last two chapters of this crying. Good times.
Child 44 – This is the book before The Secret Speech. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I enjoyed this one. From the very first sentence I was hooked. I think Tom Rob Smith is going to be up there with John le Carré as one of my favourite writers. If you’ve ever read my blog before and seen my fangirling over Mr le Carré, you’ll know this is a pretty big deal for me.
The Invisible History of the Human Race – I just finished reading this one. It’s not the sort of thing I would normally read, but I found it really interesting so I’m looking forward to sharing my thoughts on it with you guys.

Then there will be reviews for most (if not all) the books mentioned above. So it’s going to be a reasonably busy month for me in terms of reading, eating, and maybe being hungover after my birthday. A hangover which, considering my advanced age, will probably last for a couple of weeks (not really, I can mostly handle my drinks).

What are you planning on reading this month? Do you even plan ahead or do you like to read whatever you happen to pick up?

4 Comments

  1. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Book of Speculation AND The Miniaturist, so it looks like you’ll have a great June! I kind of plan what I read, but definitely leave room for me to pick other stuff up on a whim. Or ditch books on a whim. Whichever. Happy upcoming birthday! That’s so exciting.

    Like

    • I finished reading The Book of Speculation the other day – it was soooooo good. I was really sad to finish it actually. I started The Miniaturist the other day and I’m enjoying it so far. I think it’s one of those books that takes some time to warm into.
      Thanks for the early birthday wishes. I went out for a friend’s birthday last night and I’m definitely starting to feel my age. Getting old really sucks.

      Like

    • I’m really looking forward to reading it. I haven’t read a lot of books set in Holland in that period of time, but the ones I have read I’ve really enjoyed. Plus the cover of it is really pretty, so most of my excitement is based on that 🙂

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

