Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Comments 2

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Secret Speech’

The Secret SpeechTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

My teaser this week comes from The Secret Speech, which is the second book in Tom Rob Smith’s ‘Leo Demidov Trilogy’. The last few books I’ve read have been “nice” books, so it feels good to be reading something that may or may not make my stomach turn and give me chills. I’m enjoying it so far, but it didn’t start with the same punch as the first book in the trilogy, Child 44 (my review for that is here). Nonetheless, I can feel myself being set up for a few twists and turns and stabbings (or similar). Anyway, here are my sentences!

“For this reason, Leo couldn’t broadcast requests for information or ask witnesses to come forward since such actions would be tantamount to propagandizing the existence of crime. The freedom that he’d been granted was of a very particular kind and Leo, who’d done everything in his power to put his former career in the secret police behind him, now found himself running a very different kind of secret police.”

2 Comments

Write Your Thoughts Here

