Books, Reading, Updates
Comments 7

July on bitsnbooks

I actually can’t believe it’s already July! This year has gone by so quickly; before we know it we’ll be dating everything ‘2016’. That’s a scary thought. Let’s hope July goes by a little slower than the previous months. But having said that, IT’S ONLY SIX WEEKS UNTIL I FLY TO PARIS AND THEN ON TO LONDON. I’m only a lot excited. The biggest issue I have is deciding which book I’ll take with me as my holiday read. Maybe I’ll do a post in a couple of weeks and you guys can help me choose – I have a shortlist of about half a dozen. I’d take all of them, but I know I won’t read them all, and I plan on doing book shopping while I’m away so I need to keep room in my suitcase.

June was a pretty big month. I read 7 books, which is pretty amazing by my standards; I finished two more units of university and started a much needed break from my studies; and I got my top reviewer badge from NetGalley, which I am too excited about and am telling everyone about at every opportunity. It’s the little things in life, you guys. I also went to Melbourne for the first time which was pretty cool; you can read about the stuff I did here and here.

Now let me chat about what I’m reading this month. At the moment I’m reading The Dust That Falls From Dreams, which is the new novel from Louis de Bernières. It’s so wonderful (you can check out my Teaser Tuesday post for it here); it’s got me wondering why I haven’t read more of his books (I’ve only read Captain Corelli’s Mandolin – don’t judge me). As for the rest of this month’s books, as always it’s a bit of a mixed bag:

July Reads

The Other Daughter is a NetGalley read, and sounds like some decent historical fiction. In Citizen: An American Lyric, Claudia Rankine, through poetry, essay, and images, “investigates the ways in which racism pervades daily American social and cultural life” (Gray Wolf Press); I won this in a giveaway over at Shaina Reads (here are Shaina’s thoughts on it), and I’m really interested to read it. I’ll be giving away a copy of it too when I share my thoughts on it, so make sure you keep a look out for the post. How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are was a birthday gift from my sister and I’ll be reading this to get me even more in the mood for my holiday. Maybe I can learn how to be a Parisian in Paris?? The final book I hope to read this month is Agent 6 the last book in the ‘Leo Demidov Trilogy’. I was a bit underwhelmed with the second book (my review is here) so I’m hoping it ends on a high.

SOME UPCOMING REVIEWS:
The Secret Speech by Tom Rob Smith. I thought this was OK. A good read as I anticipated, but not as good as I hoped it would be.
The Homesman by Glendon Swarthout. This was a super quick read I knocked out in a couple of days. I absolutely loved it. Definitely worth a read if you’re into American history.
Crow Hollow by Michael Wallace. This was quite underwhelming actually. It wasn’t terrible, but I think it could have been executed better.
I also hope to post reviews for a couple of the above July reads, but we’ll see how I go!

What are you reading this month?

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: 24in48: My First Readathon!! | bitsnbooks

    • Thanks! Happy July to you too 🙂

      I read Citizen on the weekend, but I really think I need to read it a couple more times for everything to sink in properly. Lucky it’s short!

      Like

  2. So glad you’re excited for Citizen, and thanks for sharing my post! 🙂

    I *just* entered the Goodreads giveaway for The Dust That Falls From Dreams—it sounds so fantastic! I’m not expecting to win because I’ve never won a GR giveaway, but I’ve got my fingers crossed anyway.

    Happy July to you! I hope it brings lots of good reading.

    Like

    • Congratulations on your win! (I saw you’d written ‘Stars’ in this comment so I edited – I hope that’s ok!). I hope you enjoy it. Like I said on Twitter – the little errors are really bothering me, but aside from that the book is really good. I wonder will there be errors in your edition?
      I think I’m going to read Citizen next actually – it’s nice and short so I think I can read it one sitting. I don’t think I can put off reading it for much longer!

      Happy July to you as well – I hope the camping goes well and you have a great birthday 🙂

      Like

  3. I just started reading Billy Coffey’s When Mockingbirds Sing. I’m not sure where it will go, but it’s from BookLook Bloggers so I’m committed.

    Like

    • I have the same thing with NetGalley – I get approved for it so I feel like I *have* to finish it. Thankfully I’ve been lucky with the books I’ve got from there, they’ve all been pretty good. I hope your book turns out ok for you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

