Books, Reading
Leave a Comment

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Other Daughter’

OtherDaughter,The_mech.inddTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

This week my teaser is from my NetGalley read, The Other Daughter by Lauren Willig. I started reading it yesterday and it’s ok so far. I’m not sure how I feel about one aspect of the plot, but I’ll roll with it and see how it turns out. I really like one of the characters though, and find him very intriguing. He’s not the most pleasant of people, but there’s something about him that I already love to hate. I hope he stays that way.

My overall first impression is that it reminds me of the novels by Kate Morton – The Shifting Fog, The Secret Keeper, and The Forgotten Garden – all of which I found a little slow to get started, but was unable to put down by the end. So I’ve got everything crossed that I’ll have a similar experience with this novel.

ExcerptButtonThe book isn’t released until the 23rd of this month so rather than the usual couple of sentences,  this week I thought I’d share a link to an excerpt from the novel. So click on the button to the right to be taken through to the publisher’s page and there you can read the first chapter. It’s quite long, but it sets the story up nicely and does a pretty thorough job of introducing the main character.

What are you reading this week?

 

Write Your Thoughts Here

