Books, Reading
Comments 10

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Time Machine’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

The-Time-Machine-H.-G.-WellsAaaaand we are back to our regular programming! In case you missed it, I took part in the 24in48 Readathon over the weekend and I posted about it a few times (see Post 1, Post 2, and Post 3) – there were a lot more posts than usual this week, so it’s nice to get to Tuesday and have some normalcy.
But before we get too normal, did you see my post about my holiday read? I’m taking votes to help me decide which book to take on holidays. If you haven’t voted and you would like to, you can check out my post here.

This week I’m reading H.G. Wells’ timeless (which is kind of a pun I think) classic, The Time Machine. I’ve been reading/watching a few things relating to time travel lately, and I have to say I love the way it messes with my brain and gets me thinking in loops. Despite that I’ve never read Wells’ hugely influential novel, which is obviously a travesty. So I randomly downloaded it during 24in48 as a lunch read and now I’m finishing it up. I really like it but it’s less time travelly than I hoped, and more about the peaking and eventual downward spiral of humanity. But I’ll chat more about that when I eventually write a review. For now, here are the sentences:

“The little hands upon the dials that registered my speed raced round faster and faster. Presently I noted that the sun belt swayed up and down, from solstice to solstice, in a minute or less, and that consequently my pace was over a year a minute; and minute by minute the white snow flashed across the world, and vanished, and was followed by the bright, brief green of spring.”

What are you reading this week? Do you like time travel stuff, or does it hurt your head?
10 Comments

    • I finished the book this morning, and although I enjoyed it, it’s less about time travel and more of a social commentary. So if you do read it, just be aware of that.

      Heading over to check out your teaser now – thanks for sharing!

      Like

  1. Jewel says

    Love time travel stuff as long as it’s fairly realistic. It seems as if I always catch this just as I’ve finished a book lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree – writing time travel and the potential repercussions of it in such a way that the reader could believe that it could happen is really important. It’s a bit silly otherwise.

      I really love Teaser Tuesday. It’s not as popular as Top 10 Tuesday, but it’s an easy weekly post that doesn’t involve too much thinking. I like being able to slap it together on a Monday night, schedule it for the next morning and feel like I’ve achieved something 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. In the free rack at the library I found an old college short stories anthology–doesn’t even have an ISBN label. One of the stories is “Paul’s Case” by Willa Cather. Randomly: The mere stage properties were all he contended for. Nor was he lonely later in the evening, in his loge at the Opera.
    Time travel stories? A bit too subjective for me. Time Machine is such a statement, I don’t read many. Sometimes those bonk on the head and wake up in the Regency period types, but not often.

    Like

    • That sounds like a great find! Have you read any of Willa Cather’s work before? I haven’t, but I feel like I really should.

      Time travel stories can be very hit and miss. I’ve been lucky in that I haven’t read too many bad ones, but I imagine that they would be very difficult to get just right in terms of writing them.

      I finished Time Machine this morning and I’ve decided it’s not really about time travel at all. I mean, obviously that has a large part to play in the story, but I think the story has been used more as a vehicle for Wells to convey his own opinions on the direction in which humanity was heading. Despite it being written in 1895, I think some of the ideas in it are incredibly relevant today.

      Liked by 1 person

      • It’s popular with my AP students and you’re right, it’s more about social commentary than actual time travel. I’m a fan of Willa Cather, especially with her Pioneer trilogy. I suggest O Pioneer as a start.

        Like

        • Thanks for the rec! I just downloaded it onto my iPad so I don’t forget I want to read it 🙂 Hopefully I get to it before time travel is invented.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Time travel books are either terrible or incredible – there’s no in between. Either they explain what the consequences of actions are clearly, or they attempt to haze through it, leaving the readers to literally guess what’s going on. I’ve followed. I’m a writer myself, and usually post short stories and poetry on my blog, as well as updates on the novel I’m working on. Fantasy, Very dark and a bit of humour is what you’ll find. Check it out if you’ve got the time. Thanks 🙂

    Like

    • I completely agree – I’ve been lucky and haven’t read too many terrible ones. Although, there was an excerpt of a recently published book at the end of ‘The Time Machine’, and I actually felt like I was dragging myself through it; it’s very slow to start and I definitely won’t be going out of my way to read more of it!
      Thanks for stopping by – I’ll be sure to check out your blog 🙂

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

