Books, Reading
Comments 7

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Truth According To Us’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

9780857987945This week I’m reading The Truth According To Us, by Annie Barrows. If that author sounds familiar, it’s because she co-authored The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, which is probably one of my stand out reads from the last few years. This is in no small part due to the character of Dawsey Adams, one of those characters that just makes you sigh. Anyway, enough swooning over Mr Adams.

Barrows’ own novel is just as lovely in my opinion. I’m really enjoying it and as such, I’m trying my hardest not to rush through it. And there’s a Dawsey sort of character who doesn’t appear much, but it’s kind of special when he does. He just one of those nice characters you gradually get attached to.

Here are the teaser sentences:

“I have since wondered, of course, how my life – and my father’s and my aunt Jottie’s, too – would have been different if I’d decided to stay at home that morning. This is what’s called the enigma of history, and it can drive you right out of your mind if you let it.”

What are you reading this week? 
7 Comments

  1. Though I didn’t end up adoring Guernsey, Dawsey WAS a wonderful character. I’m glad you’re enjoying this one so much! 🙂

    Like

    • This was probably better actually; although the ending was a bit ambiguous. It was a bit too fluffy for me.

      Like

  2. Okay–another TWO books on the TBR stack. Still making my way through my short story anthology. This is from Eudora Welty’s “A Visit of Charity”:
    Poor Addie is ailing. She has to take the medicine–see?

    I have Watchman ready to go tomorrow!

    Like

    • You’re always reading interesting books I’ve never heard of, by authors I haven’t heard of. I just googled Eudora Welty and I like the sound of her work – and she won a Pulitzer! I’ll definitely have to see if I can get something by her.
      I hope you like Watchman. There are certainly some mixed responses to it, but you definitely need to read it with an open mind.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Just finished Watchman this morning. My thoughts will appear on Saturday. Actually, this is the first Welty I’ve read and I should have done so earlier, especially being a PP winner!

        Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

