Books, Reading
Comments 20

August on bitsnbooks

July was massive.

ReadingChallenge2015And to be honest I’m glad to see the end of it. It wasn’t massive in a bad way. Just massive in the sense that I didn’t get a lot of sleep. This is mostly due to the 24in48 Readthon I took part in about halfway through the month. It was pretty crazy. And because I’m basically an old lady it’s taken me ages to recover from it. But I’ll be taking part in it again because it was fun.
Because of the readathon, I managed to read 18 books this month  (admittedly four of them were only about 50 pages each, but meh). Can you even believe that? I can’t. I also hit my Goodreads reading target of 52 books for the year – this is the first time I’ve ever actually finished this challenge so go team me.
July also saw the creation of my first blog poll which was pretty fun for me. I asked you guys to vote on which book I should take away with me on my holiday. Currently it’s a tie between Church of Marvels, and When There’s Nowhere Else to Run. So if you happen to be reading this and haven’t voted yet, please feel free to do so here, because otherwise I either need to take both of these books or pick the winner out of a hat.

Speaking of my holiday planning, this happened:

That’s correct, you guys. When I’m in London I shall be seeing none other than Mr Benedict Cumberbatch himself, live on stage performing in ‘Hamlet’. As you can see from the twelve exclamation marks in my tweet, I’m excited for this. This will be happening on my very last night in London which also happens to be the last day of my holiday (not including the few days I have to sloth around when I get back home); I can’t think of a better way to end my trip.

I’ll be flying out of Sydney on August 16th for my two weeks overseas – one week spent in Paris and one in London. I’ll also be doing things other than seeing BENEDICT CUMBERBATCH LIVE ON STAGE. Things such as:

  • Going to Shakespeare and Company – a book shop in Paris that will hopefully fulfill all my book shop dreams. You should check out their website here. I’ll be leaving plenty of room in my suitcase for book purchases.
  • Going to the Louvre Museum – I saw the outside of the museum last time I was in Paris, but I was only in the city for a short time so I didn’t have enough time to actually go inside.
  • Watching ‘Richard II’ at Shakespeare’s Globe – yes, more Shakespeare.
  • Visiting the Platform 9¾ Shop at King’s Cross Station for my Hogwarts school uniform some ‘Harry Potter’ merchandise. Because why wouldn’t I do that?

I know everyone wants to live vicariously through me, so I’ll try and blog the special parts of my trip while I’m away, and maybe I’ll Instagram and Tweet too. So if you have those things let’s be friends there and you can have more access to my holiday than you ever wanted. But I’ll be on holidays so who knows how bothered I’ll be with that stuff.

Now, here’s what I’ll be reading this month:

August Reads

As I’ll be away for basically the entire latter half of the month, I don’t expect to get much reading done. Along with my mystery holiday read, I hope to read Other People’s Trades by Primo Levi before I go away. I’ll also be brushing up on my Shakespeare and reading Hamlet and Richard II (while listening to audiobooks). And because I don’t think it will be the poll winner, I’m going to read Mr Holmes because it’s nice and short and I should be able to get it finished before I jet off.

Review wise I’ve got The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster coming up. It’s seriously one of my favourite books I’ve read this year (like I haven’t said that before) and I think it’ll be one that lots of people will be talking about. I was also lucky enough to be invited take part in a blog tour for this book, so keep an eye out later in the month for a special feature post on the author, Scott Wilbanks. There’ll be some other reviews too, but The Lemoncholy Life of Annie Aster is the one to keep an eye out for.

Basically August is going to be the best month of my life.

What are you planning to read this month? Do you have anything exciting happening that isn’t book related?

20 Comments

  1. Pingback: From My Holiday – Art at The National Gallery, and seeing Benedict Cumberbatch in ‘Hamlet’ | bitsnbooks

  2. Pingback: September on bitsnbooks | bitsnbooks

  3. Pingback: Blog Spotlight: BitsnBooks | cricketmuse

  4. I became overcome with jealousy and stopped reading when I saw that YOU’RE GOING TO SEE CUMBERBATCH LIVE IN THE FLESH IN A PLAY AND THAT PLAY IS HAMLET OH MY GOD STOP IT! I’m so distracted by the awesomeness.

    I mean, that is totally amazing and I”m so excited for you. But can you, like, I don’t know, sneak me in? I guess I’ll settle for all the Instagram posts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Don’t even get me started on how excited I am about this. I was on cloud nine for about two days after I got my ticket. Sometimes I forget that I’m going and then I remember and get little bursts of excitement again. I was excited that the play was even going to be on while I was in London, but to even get a ticket…the chances of that were so low I’d basically resigned myself to not going. But my superpower of getting the things I want came in to play – thank goodness.

      I’ll definitely do some instagramming for you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can only imagine, and I had forgotten about your superpower, but my, how perfect! I really need to figure out how to get in touch with that superpower myself. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

        • I think getting that ticket has just about used up my powers, so I’m not sure how much longer it’ll last. Maybe it’ll pass on to someone else in need.

          Like

  5. What a marvelous trip you have to look forward to? I am definitely thrilled about all your Shakespearean activities. I’m attempting Juliet’s Nurse because, it is another take on R&J. It’s not what I expected and worse, it’s in large print which makes me feel as if I’m an ancient granny.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so excited for my trip – these next two weeks are going to go so slowly.

      I just checked out Juliet’s Nurse on Goodreads and it sounds interesting. But it seems like one of those books that could be either really good or really bad.
      I have to say I don’t mind large print – while I agree it makes me feel ancient, I love feeling like I’m getting through a book faster than I actually am.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I just finished Juliet’s Nurse. Good premise, disappointing delivery. Check out my review in my GoodReads review box on my page or take s chance. Many readers gave it a five.

        Like

        • I just read your review – I think I’ll steer clear of this book. If I read a retelling of a book from a different perspective, I want it to stay relatively true to the original and this book doesn’t sound like it does that. Such a shame.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Yet there are a lot of people who really liked it. It has its merits, yet I’m a bit of s purist. I’m embarrassed by all those typos in my review! Typing on my phone does have its downside. I’m reading A Slight Trick of Mind Next which is Mr Holmes?

          Liked by 1 person

        • I try to avoid typing on my phone at all costs – I have chubby little fingers which are definitely not phone friendly.

          I believe A Slight Trick of the Mind is the same as Mr Holmes. I got confused at first as I thought it was two different books, but I eventually figured it out.

          In regards to retellings, I’m all for adding a little twist, but I think there is definitely a limit to how much liberty should be taken. Although I’m yet to read Mr Holmes, I did watch the film over the weekend, and it seemed to me as though this new Sherlock was the same man – he’d been rewritten, but still maintained the essence of Sherlock Holmes.

          Liked by 1 person

  6. YAY! So many wonderful things to look forward to this month. It’s always satisfying when the reason your read count is low is because you’ve been out doing things! I hope you have a fantastic time and that all of your Cumberbatch and bookstore dreams come true.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yep, it’s good to get outside and get some fresh air every now and then, even if it means cutting into reading time,
      I was online early last week looking for a good bookshop to visit in London, and I discovered there’s a really good one that’s recently opened RIGHT ACROSS THE ROAD FROM MY HOTEL. I’m not entirely sure whether that’s a good thing or a bad thing.

      Like

  7. Well done! I’m glad things are working well for you.

    Congratulations on reaching your Reading Challenge goal; I’m about halfway though my goal of 72 books and holding steady on target.

    My reading plans for August include A Blink of the Screen by Terry Pratchett, Food: A Love Story by Jim Gaffigan, July 1914 by Sean McMeekin, and The Greatest Knight by Thomas Asbridge.

    When Deutsche Post finally reaches an agreement with DHL and packages start moving between Germany and the U.S., I’ll begin Er Ist Wieder Da by Timur Vermes.

    Like

    • Thanks so much! Although I think I’ll need a holiday to recover from my holiday…
      I got the Timur Vermes book a few weeks ago (in English). I’m really looking forward to reading it, although I have seen some mixed reports on it.

      Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

