Books, Reading
Comments 13

National Bookshop Day!

Today is National Bookshop Day here in Australia, which sadly coincides with Heather Has Limited Funds in Her Bank Account Week. But it seemed like a day that I HAD to purchase some books on, and lucky for me I had some books set aside to take to the local book exchange. So this morning I toddled around to the book exchange, handed over my goods and spent some time digging through preloved books. It was great. And although I’m not the biggest fan of used books, I have to admit that a place filled with old books smells really good. So if you’re reading this now and not out buying books, consider stopping by a second hand bookshop today and give some preloved books a home.

I have to say, I did very well for myself. I had a credit for $12.50 from my last visit there, and after the credit for the books I dropped off today, I got six books for only $11.50 (but I gave the guy $12.50 as I didn’t have the exact change, and an extra dollar seemed like nothing). Here’s what I got:

                    

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell
by Susanna Clarke
This is by far the one I’m most excited about. The tv adaptation of this just started in Australia this week and I LOVE IT (Jonathan Strange has the most perfect hair). I really wanted to read the books but have thus far refrained from buying. So when I saw this edition – which has all three books in one – I got so excited I gasped out loud and nearly fell over myself picking it up.

Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood
I was hoping to get a copy of The Handmaiden’s Tale but I couldn’t find one. I ended up picking this up though as the fact it was shortlisted for the Booker Prize seems like a good sign.

Girl With A Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier
I’ve wanted to read this for a few years, but it’s always been one of those books that I don’t need to read ‘right now’ – I’ve always picked up other books before it. But I couldn’t go past the $6.50 price tag this time.

                   

A Series of Unfortunate Events (Books 1, 2, and 3) by Lemony Snicket
I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve never read these. I did love the film starring Jim Carrey, also wonderfully narrated by Jude Law (he has the best voice for narration). I’m really excited to read these and no doubt I’ll add to my collection of the series.

Polar Star and Three Stations by Martin Cruz Smith
These are two books in a crime thriller series that I’ve been wanting to read for a while. I already have the first book in the series (Gorky Park), and I was really happy to be able to add to my collection.

Did you pick up any books for National Bookshop Day? What did you get?

13 Comments

  1. That is quite an impressive haul for only $12.50! I am unaware of this day in the U.S. but looks like I need to do some book holiday research!

    Like

    • I was pretty pleased as well. There are tons of book holidays I didn’t know about – it’s awesome. I feel like it’s acceptable to buy books on these days, even if I already have a million waiting to be read.

      But I’d forgotten I’d entered a competition to win a copy of Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell – got an email on Monday night saying I’d won… so now I have two copies! I didn’t even think I’d win because it was one of those “In 25 words or less” competitions; I’ve never won one of those in my life.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. If you’re ever in Newcastle, there’s a really cute, good value secondhand bookshop just off Darby St… I miss it!

    Like

    • I can’t even remember the last time I went to Newcastle. I should hop on the train there one weekend – it’s an incentive if I know there’s a good bookshop at the end of the train line!

      Like

  3. No idea when the American book shop day night be, but I’m even considering putting myself on a library ban at the moment. The books keep piling! This looks like an awesome selection. 🙂 I’ve only ever read one Lemony Snicket but quite liked it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m going to try a ban after the Robert Galbraith/J.K. Rowling book comes out in October. My acquiring of books is actually getting out of control – I need to take a month off work and just read every day, although I doubt that would make much of a dent.

      Like

  4. Even if we had National Bookshop Day here in the U.S. – and I’m sure we do, and I feel like a fool not knowing when it falls – there are no longer any used bookshops in my town. We had two; they both closed in the last year or so. Now, we only have one large chain. I’d feel hypocritical buying a book from them on a day promoting local shops.

    Like

    • That’s a shame. I’ve lived near this used book store for about 3 years and I’ve only just started going in there (sad, I know). I usually shop at a chain, but it’s Aussie owned and most of them are franchises – I don’t really have a lot of independent bookshops near me.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m unaware if NBD is observed in the States. I tend to stick with the library. I consider it my personal bookshelf so my little house won’t swim in books. Sounds like you are set for good reading times ahead. Isn’t it fun to find a most excellent book (love the squealing point).

    Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

