Books, Reading
Comments 3

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Life of I: The New Culture of Narcissism’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

The life of IThis week I’m reading a book that has me questioning my self-perception, and also has me dissecting my actions and my motives for them. But a true narcissist would never question their behaviour, so I think I’m in the clear.

The Life of I by Anne Manne, explores narcissism in today’s society and it is both an incredibly dense read and an illuminating one. Our perception of what a narcissist is goes far beyond a person being in love with their own reflection — at the extreme end of the narcissistic spectrum there is violence accompanied by a lack of remorse. It’s an at times scary but interesting look at the psychology of narcissism.

Here are the teaser sentences:

“Changes in our culture have created an economic, social and relational world that not only supports but actually celebrates narcissism, cultivating and embedding it as a character trait. While a malignant narcissist like Breivik is undoubtedly an extreme case, there is also an increasingly common syndrome, the ordinary, everyday narcissists who have their very own cult of personality.”

What are you reading this week?

3 Comments

  1. This book sounds interesting. I’m not entirely sure I agree with the author’s argument in your teaser sentences, but I would have to read further before I decide!

    I hope your holiday is going swimmingly so far. 🙂

    Like

    • It’s pretty heavy at times. Considering I do the majority of my reading in the early morning and on the way home from work, it’s probably not the best book for me to read when I’m feeling sleepy. But it’s keeping my brain engaged.

      I’d never thought about the full extent of narcissism – it’s actually scary how much it affects people’s actions.

      Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

