Books, Reading, Updates
Comments 13

September on bitsnbooks

September brings with it a heavy dose of reality: the trip to Europe I had been looking forward to for at least six months has now been and gone, and I now have to go back to the regular life of having nothing to look forward to – at least until I book the next holiday.
I’ll have some posts coming up about my holiday over the next few weeks, but I will say now that I had a crazy fantastic time, and it was actually everything I had hoped for.

As for books read in August, aside from finishing the Primo Levi books I had borrowed from the library I didn’t read any of the others I had planned to (you can see them here). I did get some other books read though, including my very first graphic novel, Snowpiercer, which I picked up from a bookshop in London. It was pretty great and I will hopefully have my thoughts on it posted in the near future. I also read:

  • The Beautiful Bureaucrat – this has been the buzz book in the last few weeks and I have to say it was well worth the hype surrounding it. It’s weird and awesome, and thought provoking as well.
  • Pop Sonnets – SO. MUCH. FUN.  It’s basically pop songs rewritten in the fashion of Shakespeare’s sonnets and can only be described as ‘The Most Awesomest Thing I Have Ever Read’. My review for this won’t be posted for a while yet, but if you can get your hands on an ARC now (it’s not officially published until early October) then you definitely should.
  • The Library At Mount Char – weird. Super weird. But also really good. You can read my review of it here.
  • The Life of I: the new culture of narcissism – this was a little bit of a slow read for me, but it was really interesting. It certainly had me considering how society contributes to individual personality disorders.

This month is all about NetGalley reads. Just like with physical books, I can stop myself from requesting ARC’s, and for some reason I keep getting approved. As a result I have a huge backlog of NetGalley books to get through. These are the ones for me to read this month:

I’m reading The Loney at the moment and while it’s a bit slow to get started, I’m hoping it’ll pick up. I’m really looking forward to House of Thieves, a thriller set in New York in the late 1800’s. Fates and Furies I’m a bit so so about – I’ve heard it’s really good, but I have no great expectations for it. Tristano Dies: A Life, on the other hand, I’m super pumped for – it’s about love, war, the past, and life; it sounds amazing.

So that’s me for this month. I have a few reviews coming up of books I read ages ago, as well as the aforementioned posts about my holiday. I hope you all had a great August and have an even better September coming up!

What are you reading this month?

13 Comments

  1. Naturally I comment on your September post with only a day left in the month! Sorry I’m so terrible at commenting these days.

    I’m glad you enjoyed all of your books in August, and I hope you got plenty of reading in and didn’t feel too bad about your holiday being over! I definitely know the post-vacation blues. This might be a weird thing to say, but I sometimes think I enjoy the anticipation of a holiday more than the holiday itself.

    Off to read the rest of your posts from this month. 😉

    Like

    • Hahaha. That’s ok! I’m terrible at commenting too – life can really get in the way of the important things sometimes.
      I agree with you about the anticipation of a holiday. There’s all this build up and knowing that you don’t have to be at work and then as soon as you’re actually on holiday it’s like a clock starts that counts down the days to go back to work.

      Like

  2. I’m looking forward to reading Pop Sonnets. Do you know if there was a website associated with them? I seem to recall reading something about them somewhere before . . .

    Like

    • It’s actually a Tumblr page I think (I only learned about it when I read ‘Pop Sonnets’). This is it here: http://popsonnet.tumblr.com

      I think you’ll really enjoy it. As I’m a big fan of pop, I had a lot of the songs on my iPod, so it was fun reading the sonnet and then listening to the song. It’s such a clever book.

      Liked by 1 person

    • You definitely should. It’s one of those books that will have you reflecting on your own actions, and maybe wondering why you do the things you do. It was really interesting, but I was happy when I reached the 60% point and discovered that the rest of the book was basically notes and references. It’s best read in small doses 🙂

      Like

  3. I have Fates and Furies coming up for me this month too, and am really looking forward to it! NetGalley is a trap, and one I’ve been avoiding like the plague lately 🙂

    Like

    • I think after I get through this lot of NetGalley’s I’m going to take a break from requesting (except maybe for the Pushkin Press books – I love those and they’re usually really short).
      I’m really hoping Fates and Furies turns out ok. I’m not overly excited about it, which probably means that I’ll end up loving it! I hope you enjoy reading it 🙂

      Like

  4. Great. I’m trying to be more cool like you and do an August summary. The Beautiful Bureaucrat was quite the score! I hear you about Netgalley…click, click approve. I’m below 80% reviewed there, how about you? Looking forward to your review of Fates and Furies: I didn’t see it on Netgalley here, but have seen some physical ARCs floating around.

    Like

    • Hahahaha. I’ve never been accused of being ‘cool’ before – thanks! But I actually stole this idea from all the other bloggers who do it, so I can’t take all the credit.
      I really loved The Beautiful Bureaucrat – I read it so fast though that I’d almost forgotten I’d even read it.

      I was at 80% with the NetGalley reviews. I had my 80% widget for about two days and then got approved for a bunch of books. I’m usually pretty diligent with my reviews on there though so hopefully I’ll be able to catch it up soon. And then I have to stop requesting on there for a while. I have about 100 physical books I have to read that I’ve been gradually collecting for months.

      I’m not very excited for Fates and Furies. I remember reading the sampler of it in the Buzz Books thing that NetGalley put out, and I recall that it wasn’t at the top of my list of requests. Then I read somewhere that it was going to be a ‘big thing’ so thought I’d get on the bandwagon early. Kind of regret it now, but hopefully it’ll be good.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

