Books, Reading
Comments 6

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Loney’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

25458371I’m officially back at work which means I’m back with my weekly ‘Teaser Tuesday’ posts! It’s been away for three weeks – did you miss it?

This week I’m reading The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley. I’ve been on this book for a couple of weeks now, mostly because I haven’t been sitting on a train for two hours every day – my reading has been very sporadic in the last couple of weeks.

But the book has also been a little bit slow to get going – it took until the 41% mark for something to really pique my interest. It’s not a bad read, but I’m not putting it down and being filled with excitement to pick it up again, if you get what I mean. Anyway, there’s still half the book to go, so we’ll see what happens! The writing is lovely though – really descriptive, which I love. Hopefully you can get that from the teaser sentences – and here they are:

“On the heath a gale stripped the glorious blaze of colour from Kenwood to Parliament Hill in a matter of hours leaving several old oaks and beeches dead. Mist and silence followed and then, after a few days, there was only the smell of rotting and bonfires.”

What are you reading this week?

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: Book Review – ‘The Loney’ | bitsnbooks

  2. Hi Heather, I will join this meme starting next week.
    Love the cover of THE LONEY, milimalistic and eye catching. I will check out the book, but wait to see how you like it once finished.
    Presently I am reading DEATH BY WATER by Kenzaburo Oe, I am only 5 % into this vaguely autobiographical novel, I love his writing, which is heavily influenced by his love of French and American literature. He is in his early eighties, when a child, his mother gave him Huckleberry Finn and such books to read, for a Japanese mom this was highly unusual and great.
    Anyway, have a nice Tuesday, Heather

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hey Sylvie!

      You definitely should join in. I’m always finding new books to read because of teaser sentences.
      ‘The Loney’ ended up being really good in the end, but I didn’t love the ending – it left me with more questions than answers. I’m a bit conflicted about it really – I hope to have a review up about it next week so maybe that will help you decide whether to read it or not.

      I just had a look at ‘Death By Water’ on Goodreads and it sounds amazing. Will definitely be adding it to the TBR. I bet it will be a very emotional read.

      Like

  3. On Interesting Literature’s post it stated how an author would turn to page 69 to determine if a book was worthwhile. So here is a page 69 offering from The Last Bookaneer: “No other hands today, Fergins. To the point.”

    Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

