Books, Reading
Comments 2

Teaser Tuesday – ‘Undermajordomo Minor’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

undermajordomo-ukAll the way back in 2012 I picked up a book with a witty title, written by an author whose very name suggests wittiness. It was The Sisters Brothers (it’s about two brothers with the surname Sisters – get it?) by Patrick deWitt and at the time I read it I remember enjoying it without loving it – it was actually one of my earliest reviews on this blog and you can see that review here. But in the years since, that book has always been one of the first to pop into my head when I’m trying to recall the books I’ve actually read. I’ve read a lot in recent years, so it’s clear to me that deWitt’s novel made a bigger impact on me than I initially gave it credit for and I can now unabashedly proclaim it as One of My Favourite Books I’ve Read in Recent Years.

Naturally I was super excited to learn that deWitt had a new novel coming out with another witty title – this one titled Undermajordomo Minor. I’m at the halfway point of the book I actually want to shout from the rooftops that I’M IN LOVE WITH THIS BOOK AND ITS AUTHOR. I was really worried that it wouldn’t live up to my high hopes for it but it has and I’m so happy and I’m going to stop gushing now and just write the teaser sentences:

“But he was too weak to cry for long, and when his tears dried up he stared at the candlelight and shadows stuttering and lapping against the pale while seam where the wall met the ceiling. His soul was coming loosed when the man crossed over, knelt at the bedside, put his mouth to Lucy’s ear, and inhaled.”

What are you reading this week?

2 Comments

  1. Ahhh! Another I’ve been seeing a lot of early hype for. The Sisters Brothers was on sale on Kindle recently, but I made the mistake of passing it up. I can’t wait to read your review of this one! Has deWitt written more than these two? It sounds like you’re going to need another fix soon. 😉

    Like

    • He has another short novel called ‘Ablutions’ which I’ll need to get my hands on, and that’s it. Just the three novels which makes me sad because I could read him all day. But I’d rather quality over quantity! ‘The Sisters Brothers’ is the best. I can hardly remember books that I’ve read, but that one always sticks with me. Definitely read it when you have the chance.

      This one ended up being amazing and now it’s jostling with ‘Fates and Furies’ and ‘The Dust that Falls from Dreams’ as my favourite new release this year. So much good reading!

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

