Books, Reading, Updates
Leave a Comment

October on Bitsnbooks

I’m not even going to attempt to recap September because it was a complete haze. I actually felt like there was a fog in my mind for most of it, and I didn’t even realise October was basically here until I had to write this post. I did get an OK amount of reading done though, including:

  • The Loney by Andrew Michael Hurley, which turned out to be really great in the end.
  • House of Thieves by Charles Belfoure. An OK read, but nothing to set the literary world alight.
  • Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff – stop reading this post now and check out my review of Fates and Furies and then go get yourself a copy of the book IMMEDIATELY. It was amazing.
  • The Big Bad Book of Bill Murray by Robert Schnakenberg. After reading this I’ve decided I want to be friends with Bill Murray.
  • Tristano Dies by Antonio Tabucchi. A book that probably contributed to my foggy mindset – to be honest I don’t really know what I read.
  • Undermajordomo Minor by Patrick deWitt. I’m basically in love with Mr deWitt after reading his latest novel. You need to read everything by him now.

I also started posting some photos from my holiday. If you’ve missed them, you can check out:

This month I have a wide variety of books to read, all of them from NetGalley because I went on a requesting frenzy (if you’re on NetGalley, you’ll get what I mean).

October reads

A Thousand Nights is, from what I can gather, a retelling of One Thousand and One Nights; I haven’t read any fantasy books for ages so I’m pretty excited to read this one. Then I have The Secret Chord, the latest from Pulitzer Prize winning author, Geraldine Brooks; I have no doubt this will be a good read, but I’m also prepared for it to be a bit of a slog. The Time of the Clockmaker is, I’ve recently discovered, the second book in a series so I might have to try and squeeze it’s predecessor in somewhere this month as well. The last on my list is a translation from Pushkin Press (who I can’t get enough of lately), Dear Reader by Paul Fournel, which is basically about books and the publishing industry – so of course it should be awesome.

Did you read anything extra awesome in September? What are you reading this month?

Write Your Thoughts Here

