Books, Reading, Review
Comments 12

Teaser Tuesday and A Little Review – ‘Django/Zorro’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

Django-ZorroTitle: Django/Zorro
Author: Quentin Tarantino/Matt Wagner, Esteve Polls (Illustrator)
Genre: Graphic novel
Release Date: November 24, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Yesterday I received an email from NetGalley that was full of some new comic book/graphic novel titles and since I want to read more of these, I thought I’d have a look at the titles on offer.

It was basically a given that I would request Django/Zorro – the official sequel to Quentin Tarantino’s outstanding film, Django Unchained. In Django/Zorro we see the bounty hunter, Django Freeman, team up with legendary masked hero, Zorro (real name Don Diego de la Vega), to uncover a conspiracy and free oppressed people in doing so. I started reading it last night and finished it on the train this morning and I loved it! It basically contains everything that is good about Django Unchained and Zorro.

If you like Tarantino films/Zorro/western novels (graphic or otherwise) then you won’t be disappointed with this one. It was super fun to read and it was pretty cool to see Django and Zorro together in the one story, even if Zorro  was quite a bit older than we might be accustomed to – but age has not diminished his awesomeness. The artwork was great, although not 100% clear in the ARC (it would definitely be better in print), and the storyline was fantastic – really it’s completely believable as a sequel to the Tarantino film and to be honest a film adaptation of this would not go astray (please, Mr Tarantino?).

For the Teaser Tuesday part of this post I thought I’d share the scene in which de la Vega first appears on the scene as Zorro and arouses the suspicions of Django as to his true identity. It’s one of my favourite pages because ZORRO IS AWESOME.Django-Zorro Teaser

What are you reading this week?

12 Comments

  1. Pingback: October Recap and November Reads | bitsnbooks

  2. Ah, this looks like so much FUN! Django was a very intense movie for me to watch (that scene with the slavefighting… I don’t think I’ll ever forget it), but I think I could stomach it better in graphic novel form. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • This story was a lot less graphic than the movie (even though it’s a graphic novel!). It was much easier to read and the inclusion of Zorro was a fun (if that’s an appropriate word) angle to take on Django’s own story.

      Like

  3. sgilmore1324 says

    Awesome post! I like the “Teaser Tuesday” idea, and I might start doing it! I have a book blog as well; if you could check it out and perhaps follow back that’d be great!
    Happy Reading! 🙂

    Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

