Books, Reading, Updates
Comments 2

October Recap and November Reads

Oh, it’s only November 1st. NOVEMBER 1ST. If I didn’t have a calendar in front of my right now I actually wouldn’t believe it. Time certainly flies when you’re having the best year of your life. Before I give you a rundown of what’s coming up in the second last month of the year, I’d like to give you a little recap of October. Because I know you really want that. Along with lots of reading I also had a nice little break to the country for my uncle’s 50th birthday. My aunty and uncle have the best house in the world and I spent some quality time relaxing and sitting in the grass with a dog and trying to read. Dogs are distracting. And so was the house in general:

October Books

I read heaps. I read eleven books (which is a lot for me) including two graphic novels:

  • Django/Zorro by Quentin Tarantino, and illustrated by Matt Wagner and Esteve Polls – the first of the graphic novels. It was pretty great and a bit of fun (mostly) to read (my little review is here);
  • Southern Bastards by Jason Aaron and Jason Latour – I didn’t love the art so much, but Jason Aaron’s story was interesting enough for me to want to read subsequent volumes. He also writes for a couple of Marvel comics I read, so I really like his work.
  • The Secret Chord by Geraldine Brooks – I LOVED THIS. Brooks has upped her game again (my review here);
  • A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston – this was a lot better than I was expecting and had a pretty great message too (my review here);
  • The Seventh Miss Hatfield and it’s sequel The Time of the Clockmaker by Anna Caltabiano – um, didn’t love these. I didn’t love them so much I don’t have a lot to say about them. There will be no reviews for these two;
  • Hey There Dumpling! by Kenny Lao – this was the most fun book all month because it was a cookbook and I GOT TO MAKE DUMPLINGS!!! I love dumplings (my review here);
  • Dear Reader by Paul Fournel – I could spend hours gushing over this. It was such a lovely book to read;
  • Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith – this is the third instalment in the Cormoran Strike series. I’ve been waiting on it since forever and it well and truly delivered;
  • The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood – this is probably the most important book I’ve read in a long time. I hope to be posting a review soon but don’t wait for that. Go read this book yesterday.
  • Shining: The Story of a Lucky Man by Abdi Aden – this is a biography of a Somalian refugee and his long and dangerous journey to Australia. A truly inspirational story.

November reads

I have a bunch of NetGalley books I have to catch up on this month as well as a couple of super special online purchases. They are:

November reads

  • Made to Kill is about a private detective who is also a robot. AND the blurb calls the books ‘speculative noir’ – which sounds awesome and also means that it’s my first speculative fiction novel (where was it when I was doing Book Bingo??)
  • The Boy Who Stole Attila’s Horse is a short little novel from Pushkin Press WHO I LOVE. They always publish such great books.
  • Private Life is set in Barcelona and from what I can gather, seems to be about the private lives of the elite. It was quite scandalous upon its release in the early 1930s, so I think it’ll be an interesting read.
  • Fromelles & Pozieres: In the Trenches of Hell is the latest book by my favourite Aussie author (and all round great human being), Peter FitzSimons. I don’t have it in my hands yet, but it has been shipped and it’s extra special because it’s SIGNED BY MR FITZSIMONS HIMSELF.
  • Bats of the Republic arrived in the post a couple of weeks ago and I’m beyond excited to read it. I’ve flicked through it to whet my appetite and it’s so much nicer to look at than I could have ever hoped.

What’s on your reading list this month?

2 Comments

  1. I can’t wait to hear about your upcoming reads!
    Your aunt and uncle’s house does look like a lovely place to read. This month begins the 6-month-long stint of reading by the fire here in Nova Scotia. The reading by the fire part is wonderful, but I do get sick of making them after a while (and lugging the firewood).

    Like

    • I’m pretty excited about this month’s reading. I’m getting closer to getting through my backlog of NetGalley’s. After the one’s this month reads I’ll only have 6 more to go…and then I can go request a bunch more.

      That house. It’s a house for a writer. The room I stay in there looks out over the garden, and I can just imagine myself sitting at a desk tapping away on a laptop. It’s the best place to go to for relaxation purposes.

      I’m really jealous that you have the cold weather now. Autumn/Winter is my favourite time of year – although I’m happy to say I don’t have to worry about firewood. But it would be worth doing it just to be cosy by a fire.

      Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

