Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Comments 7

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend’

The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend CoverTeaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

This morning I started reading The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald, a book I got approved for on NetGalley AGES ago and am just getting around to reading. I’m 10% in and so far I love it! As suggested by the title, it’s super bookish and it’s hard not to see myself reflected in the main character, Sara – she’s such a book nerd. It’s only early days yet, but I anticipate a couple of late nights spent sitting up reading this. Anyway, here are the sentences:

“Her hair was a nondescript shade of brown, held back with a carelessly placed hair clip that didn’t stop it from flowing over her shoulders in a tangle of curls. Where her face should have been, there was a copy of Louisa May Alcott’s An Old Fashioned Girl.”

What are you reading this week?

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: Blog Tour & A Review – ‘The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend’ | bitsnbooks

  2. Hah–finally have a book! I am rereading (my yearly) Jane Eyre, which I just assigned to my AP Lit students. “I would not now have exchanged Lowood with all its privations for Gateshead and its daily luxuries.” p.99

    Liked by 1 person

    • I do love Jane Eyre – perhaps I should give it a reread. I’ve always been a fan of Mr Rochester, despite his grouchiness and the fact that he keeps his wife locked in the attic.

      Liked by 1 person

        • I don’t think I’ve ever watched an adaptation of Jane Eyre. I do want to see the most recent one with Michael Fassbender as Rochester – I love just about anything that he’s in (he’s a great Macbeth if you haven’t seen that yet). But I can see how Timothy Dalton would be a good Rochester, I think he’s a great actor – I especially like him in Penny Dreadful.
          And re: Darcy – never been a huge fan of him. There are plenty of others I definitely prefer, Heathcliff is one. Basically I like the morally ambiguous ones rather than the mostly stuck up rich guys!!

          Liked by 1 person

        • Fassbender’s version was well-done, even though the story was condensed far too much for the commercial market. Dalton’s version is most true to the novel as it is a BBC series. It’s on YouTube.

          Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

