Books, Reading, The Twelve Books of Christmas
Comments 12

The Twelve Books of Christmas

TheTwelveBooks of ChristmasThe Festive Season is well and truly upon us. If you’re in the northern part of the world, you might be preparing for a chilly December with many evenings spent rugged up with a book. If you’re in the south like me, you’re probably preparing for sweat, sweat, and more sweat. But regardless of if you’ll be spending your time wearing as many clothes as possible or as few as possible, you probably have a bunch of books you’d like to read and get out the way before you get more as gifts (because that’s the only thing readers really want). So what better way to clear some space than a festive reading challenge?

Shaina over at Shaina Reads is hosting ‘The Twelve Books of Christmas’ reading challenge. It will run from December 1 to 31, and the goal is to read at least 12 books in the month of December; there’s no theme or anything you have to stick to so they can be any book you like! And because Shaina is so awesome, she’s hosting a little giveaway too. What’s not to love about this challenge? If you want to take part, head over to Shaina’s blog and sign up here. Even if you don’t celebrate Christmas, come and join us because READING! If you do decide to join in, make sure you use the hashtag #12forXmas on all the social medias if you want to track your reading through there.

So, what have I picked to read? Weeeeeell, it was really hard to narrow it down to 12, so I actually have 18 books picked out. As I don’t have a death wish, I won’t be busting myself to read all 18 – I’ll just be aiming for the 12 – but I’d like to have a few selections at hand and ready to go. But if I do happen to read 18 that’ll be a nice bonus, especially as I only need to read another 15 books this year to hit 100 books read in total this year.

I have two NetGalley reads I definitely have to get through and they are Stammered Songbook by Erwin Mortier and After the Circus by Patrick Modiano. The rest of the books are a bunch that I’ve had lurking around in my TBR Towers for a little while (in some cases, a long while):

The guy on the left is Yorick and is a potentially accurate representation of what I’ll look like by the end of the month. Anyway, the books.

  • Montaigne by Stefan Zweig and Suspended Sentences by Patrick Modiano are both books I purchased on my holiday earlier in the year.
  • There are two books by Alejandro Zambra – Ways of Going Home and My Documents. I’ve had these for a while and have been looking forward to reading them, but other books keep getting in the way.
  • The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith. I picked this up in my local secondhand bookshop in lieu of another Highsmith book they didn’t have, This Sweet Sickness. But I’m ok with Mr Ripley and I’m excited for this one.
  • The Long Green Shore by John Hepworth and Girl With A Pearl Earring by Tracy Chevalier were both impulse grabs in the secondhand bookshop. I’ll be able to trade them for MORE BOOKS when I’m done.
  • Mr Holmes by Mitch Cullin. This one has been staring at me since forever, so it’s about time I give it a read.
  • All Quiet On the Western Front by Erich Maria Remarque. While I only purchased this book earlier this year, I’ve been wanting to read it for as far back as I can remember. It’s probably not the most pleasant of reads at this time of year, but
  • The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion. I’ve wanted to read something by Joan Didion for a while now, and this seemed like a good place to start.
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling. After picking up a copy of the illustrated Philosopher’s Stone, I thought I might as well continue on rereading the rest of the series because it’ obviously a good idea.
  • When There’s Nowhere Else to Run by Murray Middleton. Another one that’s been staring at me from my TBR for ages so I really need to get it read before the new year.
  • Private Bill by Barrie Cassidy. I’m pretty sure I actually bought this book last year, but I can’t remember. Regardless, I’ve had it for too long without reading.
  • Slade House by David Mitchell. This one was a recent purchase as I conveniently had a voucher to spend at my local bookstore. I’m pretty excited to read this one. I think I might read it first.
  • Paradise Lost by John Milton. According to Goodreads, I started reading this on January 20, 2015, but I haven’t actually read any of it since some time in February. I am 100% determined to have this read before January 1st, so I’ve picked up an audiobook version to read along with.
  • Richard II by William Shakespeare. This is just one little play in my book of Shakespeare I’ll be reading along with an audiobook that runs for 3 ½ hours. I’m super excited for this after seeing the play performed at Shakespeare’s Globe in London. It’s a BBC dramatisation as well, so I know it’ll be great.
12 Comments

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: My Top 10 New Releases of 2015 | bitsnbooks

  2. Pingback: The Twelve Books of Christmas (Week 2 Update) | bitsnbooks

  3. Pingback: Book Review – ‘Mr Holmes’ | bitsnbooks

  4. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Long Green Shore’ | bitsnbooks

  5. Finally getting around to reading this! I LOVE your stack, you’ve picked such a great variety of books. I’m excited to hear what you think of The Year of Magical Thinking – it’s a very honest look at grief.

    Like

    • It is a good mix, but I wish I had some in there that were a little more festive – there’s a lot of sad reading in there. I’m saving Harry Potter for closer to Christmas so I have something light and reasonably happy to read.

      Like

  6. Pingback: November Recap and December Reads | bitsnbooks

  7. This sounds like fun! But, for me, I don’t think I even have a hope of reading 12 books in December – usually I slow down a bit, because of all the stuff going on. I’ll have fun following everyone else’s progress instead!

    Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

