Books, Reading, Updates
Comments 4

November Recap and December Reads

Well, December is here. Which means that not only is Christmas looming, but so too is 2016. I’m certain that scientists have secretly sped up time or something, because I swear we haven’t already gone through an entire year. But here we are and who am I to question what scientists may or may not have done?

November Books

My reading in November was largely mediocre. An exciting thing that happened was my first auto-approval by a publisher on NetGalley which was pretty thrilling, especially as it was an auto-approval by Pushkin Press who I’m always requesting books from.
I read eight books, four of which were outstanding, one that was OK, and three that were actually a little disappointing:

  • Made to Kill by Adam Christopher promised a lot but could have been executed better (my review here).
  • The Boy Who Stole Attila’s Horse by Iván Repila. I absolutely adored this little book and it was definitely one of the reading highlights this month (my review here).
  • I finally finished reading the illustrated edition of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by She Who Doesn’t Need To Be Named, and illustrated by Jim Kay. If you want to remember how magical it felt to read Harry Potter for the first time, then you need to get yourself a copy of this. The illustrations are to die for.
  • Private Life by Josep Maria de Sagarra. This is the one that was just OK. I thought the writing in this was spectacular but it went on for a bit too long and I found my mind wandering in some parts that didn’t really have anything to do with the plot.
  • Bats of the Republic by Zachary Thomas Dodson. This was the first illuminated novel I’ve read and it definitely won’t be the last. I enjoyed the act of reading this book, but I got a bit lost in some parts and I didn’t get the ending. Also, there’s a sealed letter at the back that you’re not supposed to open until the end. The anticipation of this was almost to much to handle and I actually felt really let down by its contents.
  • The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth McKenzie. This one was kind of flatlining for me from the beginning. Then it got really good in the middle before flatlining again. It wasn’t terrible by any means – it has its virtues – but it wasn’t the book for me.
  • The North Water by Ian McGuire. This one isn’t published until next year, but I’m super glad I got an ARC of it so I ca rave about it for the next couple of months. This is an absolutely outstanding piece of work, and I wouldn’t be at all surprised to see it receive a few award nominations next year.
  • The Readers of Broken Wheel Recommend by Katarina Bivald. This book was just a big warm hug and I won’t hear a bad word said against it. To me it’s kind of a cross between the bookishness of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, and the revival of town spirit portrayed in the film To Wong Foo, Thanks for Everything Julie Newmar. By the time I got to the end, I felt like this:

ToWongFooThanksForEverything

December reads

I AM SO EXCITED FOR THE READING THIS MONTH. I’m taking part in the ‘Twelve Books of Christmas’ reading challenge, hosted by Shaina at Shaina Reads. Below is a picture of all the books I’m reading (you can check out my full post about it here). If I can read them all I’ll hit 100 books read for the year. My eyes might fall out in the process, but it’ll be worth it.

YorickAndBooks and snow

What’s on your reading list this month?

4 Comments

    • It really is lovely. My favourite picture is when Harry and Hagrid are in the little boat after Hagrid collects him from the cabin on the island. It’s just the best.

      Like

    • This is going to be an excellent challenge for clearing some space for new books. I was so excited about it I made a stack about a month ago in anticipation. Do you have any idea what you might read?

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

