Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Comments 2

Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Long Green Shore’

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

TheLongGreenShore coverThis Tuesday I’m reading The Long Green Shore by John Hepworth, the third of my reads for The Twelve Books of Christmas. It isn’t the most festive of reads (that’s not really my style anyway), as it’s about a group of Australian soldiers under fire in New Guinea at the end of World War Two. I picked it up at random and for a few measly dollars at my local second-hand book store.

Despite the lack of festiveness, it really is wonderful so far – the writing is fantastic and completely engaging. I expect to power through this one, which is good because I’m five books behind schedule in my updated Goodreads reading challenge. I’m gunning for 100 books now and I’m determined to get there. Now, here are the sentences:

“Inside the heavy army boots, his lean toes instinctively crooked and clung, as though his trousers were again rolled to his knees and his feet planted, balanced apart, gripping the small deck. And in the foam and the darkness of the sea and hurricane-grey sky and the timeless surge, he felt his loneliness—that loneliness and nostalgic discontent he knew all his life.”

What are you reading this week?

2 Comments

Write Your Thoughts Here

