Books, Reading, The Twelve Books of Christmas
Comments 5

The Twelve Books of Christmas (Week 4 Update)

TheTwelveBooks of ChristmasFirst of all, I hope everyone who celebrates it had a great Christmas – if you don’t celebrate it, I hope you had a great Friday! I had a pretty fantastic and relaxing day. I was lucky enough to find some great books under the tree this year – two box sets made up of six books in total. The first was The Complete Works of Primo Levi (two of which I have previously read and reviewed here), the other is ‘The Hogwarts Library’, made up of Quidditch Through the AgesThe Tales of Beedle the Bard, and Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. The last one was on my Christmas wishlist, so I was super happy to receive it. AND I got the ‘Harry Potter Colouring Book’ – it’s amazing how much more time consuming colouring is as an adult when you have a concept of shading, rather than just colouring in flat blocks of colour. But it’s still fun!

I’ve also been stocking up on books before my ban starts for the Read My Own Damn Books challenge next year. Once the calendar flips over to January 1st I’ll be on a book buying ban, so I’ve made sure to squeeze in a few purchases to make sure I’ve got plenty to read in 2016, which kind of defeats the purpose of the challenge but oh well. You can read all about the Read My Own Damn Books Challenge, as well as the Clean Your Reader challenge I’m also participating in, here.

Anyway, my reading this week slowed right down, mostly because I haven’t been spending two hours on the train everyday which is usually my reading time. But that hasn’t slowed by progress on the challenge! Just today I finished reading book number 12 which means I’ve finished the challenge! Now I’ve only got one more book to read until I hit 100 books read for the year and with a few more days left in 2015, I’m confident that I’ll reach my goal. Here’s what I read in this last week:

My Documents

Author: Alejandro Zambra
Genre: Fiction (literary)
Release Date: April 14, 2015
Rating: ★★★★

This was the second book by Alejandro Zambra I read this month, and I have to say I enjoyed it a lot more than the first, Ways of Going Home (which I wrote about briefly here). If you’re a fan of reading collections of short stories, then I can highly recommend this book. You can check it out on Goodreads here.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (Harry Potter #2)

Author: J.K. Rowling
Genre: Fiction
Release Date: 1998
Rating: ★★★★

This has always been my least favourite of the ‘Harry Potter’ novels, but this rereading has altered my opinion of it and I enjoyed it far more than I have on previous reads. I’m not sure what it was that caused me to dislike it in the past, but whatever it was has made itself scarce and I had a great time reading this one Christmas Eve and in the days following Christmas.

Currently Reading:

5 Comments

  1. I’ve also been stocking up on books before #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks starts. I don’t care as much about ebooks (since storage is not in the middle of my house), so I’ve guiltlessly purchased 10 or so new ebooks. 🙂

    Like

    • I think I finished up with 14 new books purchased in the last two weeks of December – but 20 in total if you count Christmas gifts. We have A LOT of reading ahead of us! Good luck 🙂

      Like

  2. Must say, I’ve been buying a few books over the last few days before my 2016 book-buying-ban begins (I’m doing the same challenge). *three more book shopping days left – make them count* :-/

    Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

