Books, Reading, Top Ten Tuesday
Comments 34

Top Ten Tuesday: 10 new releases from 2015 I meant to read but didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

If you’re anything like me, being an avid reader also goes hand in hand with hoarding books. You have to accumulate them all NOW just in case they stop printing books tomorrow, or so that you’ll have plenty of reading material for when the zombie apocalypse hits (because obviously zombies WILL NOT cut into reading time). So naturally I have loads of books I’ve accumulated in the last couple of years that I haven’t read but of course I meant to. 2015 was no exception. I bought a bunch of new releases last year that I then put to one side full of good intentions – here are 10 of them, in no particular order (you can click on the title to check it out on Goodreads).

AGodInRuinsA God In Ruins by Kate Atkinson. There are two reasons I didn’t read this. Firstly, because I hadn’t read the book before it, Life After Life, and secondly because I only just ordered it online about four days before Christmas. I am currently reading Life After Life and I have God in Ruins ready to go, so things are looking up.

Wind/Pinball by Haruki Murakami. I was so excited to get my hands on this, but I was patient and waited until I was overseas and made it one of my special holiday purchases. I couldn’t wait to read it when I got home, but then I didn’t. Also, does this one even really count since the two stories were first published in the 70s?

TheBuriedGiantThe Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro. I entered a competition to win this, but didn’t win. And then it was always a book I thought about purchasing whenever I went to the bookshop, but didn’t. Then when I went on my book purchasing flurry in the final weeks of December, it was part of a buy two books and get a third for free deal so that basically pushed me over the line.

Church of Marvels by Leslie Parry. I bought this back in June with a gift voucher I received for my favourite bookshop. I was excited because it seemed a bit lighter than some of the other stuff I had already read, and I even thought about taking it on holiday with me. But then I didn’t.

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch AlbomJohn le Carré: The Biography by Adam Sisman. I’ll admit, I’m kind of obsessed with John le Carré. If I could write half as well as him I’d be pretty chuffed. Surprisingly I was late to the party on news of this biography, which has been written with full cooperation from le Carré and his family. This was another late purchase in the year so I didn’t have to wait until 2017 to read it (so now I get to read it as part of #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks!).

The Magic Strings of Frankie Presto by Mitch Albom. I read an excerpt of this in a NetGalley new release sampler thing in about April of last year and loved it, but then the book never appeared on NetGalley, and then I missed the release date. I didn’t even realise it was out until I saw it in my local bookshop. So I also purchased this in my book spree in the last week of December.

Salman-RushdieRush Oh! by Shirley Barrett. I actually won this in a member giveaway for my local bookshop and I was meant to read it and then review it for their website. But I didn’t. I’ll read it this year for sure, and then post a review on their website. Better late then never, right?

Two Years Eight Months and Twenty-Eight Nights by Salman Rushdie. I saw this one on NetGalley too, but because I’m in Australia (and we are unworthy) I was unable to request it because of the whole region thing. Then I bought it later in year and … you know the drill.

WhereMyHeartUsedToBeatWhen There’s Nowhere Else to Run by Murray Middleton. This book of short stories was the winner of an Australian literary award last year and my purchasing of it was for two main reasons. One, to enjoy it. Two, to see how this guy writes his short stories because I thought I’d like to write some short stories too (so, research, basically). I didn’t end up reading it, and I didn’t write any short stories.

Where My Heart Used to Beat by Sebastian Faulks. It was years after its release that I read Faulks’ Birdsong, so I wanted to get on the bandwagon early with his latest. I didn’t though. I’ll read it this year. Maybe.

Have you read any of these? Should I be excited or not so much?

34 Comments

    • I just hit to the halfway point of Life After Life this morning and I REALLY like it. But, I did find it a little repetitive early on when it kept going back to her birth every 20 pages or so.

      Like

  1. Seems I’m a bit off about the release date of Where My Heart Used to Beat…I thought it was coming out this month. Guess I have a bit more catching up to do than I thought. 🙂

    Like

    • I’m in Australia and the release dates here are usually based off those in the UK and US (generally whichever is first), so maybe it was released in the UK already and that’s why we got it here. So don’t worry – you probably haven’t missed it where you are!

      Like

  2. I haven’t read any of these, but Ishiguro and Rushdie have been on my list since… well, since these books came out. I am hoping to win a giveaway for Rush Oh! I’m not holding my breath, but I’d like to read it.

    Like

    • I hope you win! If you don’t, I might do a giveaway for my copy when I’m done with it, so maybe you can enter that (if you don’t have the book before then).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t read any of these, but I am anxious to read Rush Oh!. (which is not available here yet) I will have to be patient. 🙂

    Like

  4. readerbuzz says

    I hurriedly read Buried Giant before the author visited Houston last year. I thought it was quite powerful, in a quiet way.

    Here’s my Top Ten!

    Like

    • I’ve heard lots of good things about it, so I’m looking forward to reading it – you’re very lucky to have seen the author! Thanks for sharing your top ten!

      Like

  5. I have yet to read anything by Mitch Albom, but would certainly like to. That one sounds good and has a nice solid rating on Goodreads. I would like to get in at least a couple of biographies this year and have added John le Carré: The Biography to my TBR. I hope that you make your way to these and enjoy them. Happy reading.

    Like

    • I’ve read Tuesdays With Morrie and the Five People You Meet in Heaven and they were both very good. I’m told Frankie Presto is pretty great as well, so you should definitely check out something by him soon.
      A few years ago I read loads of biographies and then I went off them a little bit last year, I’d really like to get back into reading them – I have high hopes for the le Carre one.
      Happy reading to you as well!

      Like

  6. Well, it’s always nice to be excited for new books. I have so many on my shelves that I’ve yet to get through–that’s my plan for January and February, and then I’ll try to get through my 2015 backlog before seeing what’s out this year. Thanks for the suggestions, though!

    Like

    • I’ve got a few egalleys to read, so I’m trying to get all of those read between now and the end of March, then I’ll start on all the rest. I never thought I’d see the day I had to plan my reading!
      I hope you enjoy your upcoming reads – I’ll be interested to see what you have 🙂

      Like

      • Ah, I have a plan for that I’ll likely execute next week.

        Best of luck on your reading! The need for planning just means you’re moving to the next level–it’s a good thing, of course.

        Liked by 1 person

    • So many people are looking forward to this and I’m genuinely surprised by that – it seemed so obscure to me. But apparently it’s less obscure than I thought!

      Liked by 1 person

        • I must have missed all that publicity! The first I heard of it was when I got an email from Dymocks for a competition (which is where I got my copy), and then I didn’t really see much of it after that. I really should pay more attention to things!

          Like

    • I actually read Midnight’s Children a few years and didn’t really enjoy it that much. I thought it was well written, but it just went on a bit too long for me. I’m still looking forward to this one though – I’ve seen a few good comments on it and it’s A LOT shorter so that’s a big plus. Is there anything else by him you’d recommend?
      I’m hoping to read A God in Ruins this weekend, assuming I can finish Life After Life before then!

      Like

      • That’s great. If you didnt like that one I suspect you will like the new Rushdie. I am not a Rushdie fan but I really think that way. No harm in giving it a try. Let me know if you enjoy the book. Ohh, I want to read a God in ruins too

        Liked by 1 person

    • Have you read Midnight’s Children? I read it a few years ago and felt I should have liked it a lot more than I actually did.

      Like

      • I own it, have yet to read it. I’ve read Haroun and the Sea of Stories and Enchantress of Florence. Sea of Stories is one of my all-time favorites, but then again, it’s his only children’s story so it’s pretty different from his other works.

        Like

  7. I’ve read The Buried Giant and enjoyed it for it’s setting (medieval England) and the parallels to the Arthurian legends. I know two others who’ve read it, and all three of us have come away with different interpretations; in my opinion, that’s a mark in favor.

    Like

  8. Two Years Eight Months and and Twenty Eight Nights is SO GOOD. You’ll love it 🙂 And that’s the only one of your new 10 that I’ve read, so I’ll stop there

    Like

    • I’ve seen lots of good opinions on it. I’ve read one Rushdie book before and didn’t really enjoy it that much, so I have my expectations a bit lower for this one – hopefully it helps!

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

