Books, Features, Reading, Updates
Comments 13

The round up // January 2016

I have to say, 2016 has been pretty good so far. I’ve already got one readathon under my belt for the year, and that has helped me get through 10 books this month including my very first audiobook (that wasn’t a full cast performance of a Shakespeare play). Some reading highlights:

  • The Collected Novellas of Stefan Zweig. This one was a bit of a struggle to get through, but I’m glad I stuck with it.
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling. Do I need to say anything about this? It’s probably my second favourite ‘Harry Potter’ book because it has Sirius Black in it and I LOVE HIM.
  • Life After Life by Kate Atkinson. The middle 200 pages of this were great. Everything either side of that, not so much.
  • The Gospel of Loki by Joanne Harris. This will never be ‘The Best Book I’ve Ever Read’, but it was fun and full of Loki sass and mischief.
  • When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris. This was the audiobook I listened to and it was actually narrated by Sedaris himself. Gosh he’s hilarious. I liked this until it got to the final chapters and then I got a bit bored.
  • A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson. This book broke me. It was good but not great until I got the final pages and basically got punched in the face. This one will stay with me for a long time.

I also took full advantage of my Marvel Unlimited subscription and read stacks of back list comics, along with the usual ones I subscribe to and receive in the post. I’m currently reading the entire ‘Civil War’ story arc in preparation for the new Captain America film. It’s great as I’ve been reading a bunch of comics I probably wouldn’t usually read (like Spider-Man, She-Hulk, and Wolverine) as they’re all tied up in the one big ‘Civil War’ arc. The app has them listed in a suggested reading order, which is super helpful because I’d have no idea otherwise. If any other Marvel comic readers have been thinking about getting a Marvel Unlimited subscription, I’d say do it – it’s definitely worth it.

TheRoundUp

At the moment I’m chipping away at Outlander and doing a reread of War & Peace (did you know I have a deathwish?). These two will probably take up most of February, but I also have a couple of NetGalley ARCs to be read (one of them a thriller, which I’m thrilled about) and I’m continuing with my reread of the ‘Harry Potter’ novels – it’ll be The Goblet of Fire this month, which is my ABSOLUTE favourite because dragons and Viktor Krum. The first of the three books I’m allowed to purchase this year (because of #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks), Primo Levi’s Resistance, also arrived last week and I want to be good and read it as soon as possible, instead of letting it sit forever and gather dust.

So it’s going to be a busy reading month which I want to make the most of as I’ll be starting uni again in March, which means I’ll need to devote A LOT of time to procrastinating.

Did you read anything good in January? Any big plans for February?

13 Comments

  1. Pingback: Reading Challenge Update // January 2016 | bitsnbooks

  2. OOOH! Primo Levi’s Resistance looks so shiny and like you will be depressed after reading it. We read his work…. If This is a Man? at uni a couple of years ago and… it’s possibly the best writing on the Holocaust I have come across. Are you very familiar with his work? Is it worth looking into some of his other titles, we were told they were all kind of the same, and if you read one, you had read them all… but I still sometimes look at other books…. and I’m assuming resistance is a non-fic about him? I’m getting so excited right now, it’s embarrassing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah I think it’ll be a bit of a downer. But I don’t mind. It’s a bio type book about his time spent in the Italian Resistance before he went to Auschwitz.

      I read a couple of his books last year and loved them. I really wanted to read ‘If This Is A Man’ (that book is the whole reason I found out about him) but I never got around to getting a copy. But! I was lucky enough to get his complete works for Christmas. It’s a set of three hard covers with everything that he wrote. I can’t wait to get started on it.
      I can recommend reading his other stuff, but that’s onlybased on the two books I’ve read. I found those two very different from each other and had me thinking about different things. I wrote about them here if you’re interested: https://bitsnbooks.wordpress.com/2015/12/17/reading-primo-levi/

      Liked by 1 person

  3. So you liked A God in Ruins better than Life after Life, it sounds like? I think you’re the only person I’ve heard say that! I think I’d have to read them both again before making a decision about which was my favorite. My expectations for Life after Life were super-low (can’t remember why!), and my expectations for A God in Ruins were quite high, which I think caused a bias in my opinion on both.

    Like

    • I think I was the opposite to you – I went in to Life After Life with quite high expectations, but because I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I went into A God In Ruins with lower expectations.

      I like Life After Life, but it was just too repetitive. Repetition is obviously the point of the book, but it got very tedious and I didn’t get the point of it all in the end.
      I was *this* close to not liking A God In Ruins, but it had such a powerful message at the end really had something to say. I was ok up to the last few pages and then it broke me. Plus I loved Teddy!

      Like

  4. I’ve tried to read Life After Life two times now and just can’t get into it! I think I’m going to officially give it up and am unlikely to try it again. Good luck with your chunky books 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks! I had a late night to stay up and finished Outlander, so one down and one to go.

      I liked the repetitive element of Life After Life, but it got *too* repetitive to the point of tediousness and it all meant nothing in the end anyway. You aren’t missing out!

      Like

  5. I got through twelve books, surprisingly…three of which were ARCs. I also read three of my own damn books, but I still bought two new ones. I need to keep myself on a leash.

    I’ve never read too many comics, oddly enough. I think my brother favored superhero ones when we were younger, and I liked the GI Joe ones since the 7-11 by us only carried the usual Spiderman, Superman, and Batman suspects and never the Flash or Daredevil. Still, sounds like you had a really productive January. Good on you!

    Like

    • Twelve books? That’s a good start to the year and at least you read more of your own books than you bought 🙂

      I wasn’t big on comic books until last year. I love the Marvel films and that’s what started it off for me. ‘Thor’ was my first subscription, but I only started reading it when they made Thor a female character – she kicks all of the butts. I just love her. My comic reading has grown from there.
      I mostly read superhero ones, but Julianne got me onto a good spooky one called ‘Harrow County’ – it creeps me out so much.

      Like

    • I think I need to reread that as well – I remember liking it but not loving it. Maybe I’ll feel differently about it now that I’m older.
      Are you liking it so far?

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

