Books, Features, Reading, Reading Challenges, Updates
Comments 6

Reading Challenge Update // January 2016

I thought I’d take the time to give a little update on my progress for the three reading challenges I’m participating in at the moment, since I didn’t really include it in my January round up post. I first wrote about them here if you’re interested. All of them basically fall under the #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks challenge, but for the sake of tracking eBooks and physical books, I’m keeping them separate.

The ‘Clean Your Reader’ Challenge

I’ve not got off to as good a start with this one as I’d hoped. So far I’ve only read three of the eBooks I have on my iPad. That’s not even one a week and nowhere near as many as I wanted to have read. In the next couple of months I’m going to aim to read more digital than paper. Not likely to happen, but I’ll give it a crack. The eBooks I read were:

  • After the Circus by Patrick Modiano
  • The Collected Novellas of Stefan Zweig
  • Stammered Songbook by Erwin Mortier

#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks

I’ve done ok with this. I read four new books from my TBR towers, plus one reread that wasn’t on the #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks list. I went a bit rogue and borrowed a book from the library (but at least I didn’t spend money, right?), and I bought a book that wasn’t one of my three allowances for the year. BUT! I did move one of the allowances onto my birthday/Christmas wishlist. It was tough, but it was a sacrifice I was willing to make. This month I read:

  • A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket
  • Life After Life by Kate Atkinson
  • The Maze Runner by James Dashner

The “Read Harder” Challenge

I crossed four tasks of the list:


It’s not too late to sign up for these challenges! Click on the links below to join in:

Clean Your Reader
#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks
Read Harder

Are you participating in any reading challenges? How are you going so far?

6 Comments

  1. Pingback: Reading Challenge Update // February 2016 | Bits & Books

    • I was worried the same thing would happen to me, but thankfully all the books I’ve hoarded seem to be pretty good ones. Hopefully February has been better for you so far!

      Like

  2. I’m liking the reading challenges that you’ve chosen for the year. I’ve never really tried to do them, but maybe it’s not too late to jump on!

    Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

