Books, Features, Reading, Updates
Comments 31

The round up // February 2016

February was another good month of reading – I finished up with eight finished for the month, plus another couple of hundred pages read in a chunkster I started last month (War & Peace). Some reading highlights:

  • Outlander/Cross Stitch by Diana Gabaldon. I finished reading this chunkster that I started in January and I quite enjoyed it. I gave it 4 stars on Goodreads, but I don’t actually know if it was that good. I discussed that a little here.
  • The Art of Reading by Damon Young. This was easily my favourite book of the month. It gave me so much to think about, it was fun to read, and I love looking at the cover. I got a digital ARC of this from the publisher, but I hope to have a print copy one day so I can go nuts sticking post-it flags in it. [My review.]
  • War & Peace by Leo Tolstoy. I’m still working on this and it’s taking forever to get through but I’m ok with that because I NEVER WANT IT TO END. I’m appreciating it so much more the second time around, which really affirms for me the idea that sometimes we just aren’t ready for certain books when we read them for the first time  (which I touched on briefly here). Also, if you haven’t watched the BBC adaptation of it yet, GO AND DO IT. It’s amazing.
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire – [insert a million love hearts here] This is my favourite of all the Potter books and I sure did cry on the train towards the end of it.

MyGlassesI also got some new reading glasses in February! They are so comfy and I can wear them all day without them hurting my ears like my old ones did, which means I can concentrate better and this has made me 100% more productive at work. They make me look like if Clark Kent was a golden retriever, but I love them anyway. And my sister and I had fun picking them out (that’s them on the right). ALSO! I downloaded the new bookish app called Litsy – it’s kind of a mix between Goodreads and Instagram. I don’t know that I love it just yet, but I’ll stick it out for a bit. If you have it, let’s be friends! My username is Heather_Reads. It’s only available with Apple at the moment, but it shouldn’t be far off for you Android folk.

March is going to be the start of a super busy few months for me. I started uni again today and I found out mid-February that I have to move house, so yay for having to pack (if you didn’t read that last part with sarcasm, you read it wrong). I’m especially looking forward to packing all my books (so much sarcasm).

Unfortunately (because I really don’t have time for it) things are going to be great in tv land towards the end of the month, with season 2 of Daredevil hitting Netflix on March 18th – Matt Murdock is my tv boyfriend so I’m very excited for this – and the BBC adaptation of John le Carré’s The Night Manager starts in Australia on March 20th. I’m hoping to get in a reread of the book before the show starts (here’s what I thought of it the first time I read it) – if you’ve spent any amount of time on this blog in the last couple of years, you would know that I love John le Carré almost obsessively, so basically there aren’t enough words to describe how thrilled I am that another of his creations is being brought to life.

HorizontalMarchAlong with a possible reread of The Night Manager, I’ll be continuing with War & Peace and I’ve got a bunch of ARCs to read, including The Vegetarian by Han Kang which is everywhere at the moment. I’m also taking part in Julianne’s Weirdathon which you should go sign up for right now! It’s sure to expand your reading horizons – sign ups are here (or there’s a button you can click in the sidebar on the right). I’ll be participating in a Weird Off for this, and I have a super top-secret book to read – hopefully I can represent its weirdness in all its glory.

FINALLY. March 31st marks four whole years since I published my first post on this blog. I’ve got a little giveaway happening for this which I’ll post about in a couple of weeks, so keep a lookout!

Did you read anything good in February? Any big plans for March?

31 Comments

  1. Pingback: The round up // March 2016 | Bits & Books

  2. Four years of blogging! Awesome!

    And what kind of glasses are those? Ones that don’t hurt your ears sounds too good to be true…and I need to know more.

    Like

      • I don’t think we have that store, but I’ll have to check. I have horrible vision so mine are so heavy, which means I rarely wear glasses even though I like them.

        Like

        • I had a look at their website and it looks like they’re only in Europe and down my way. Bummer. I’m sure you’d be able to find something similar to these ones though.
          The most noticeable difference (aside from the weight of them), is that the arms are a bit shorter than my old ones and that has made them much comfier.

          Liked by 1 person

        • I will definitely be keeping a lookout for something similar. I recently replaced mine not too long ago, so it will be a little while, but even though the ones I have now are an improvement, they’re still heavier than I like. So glad you found some comfy ones! It’s no small feat. 🙂

          Like

  3. booksahoy says

    Congratulations on the blog anniversary 😄 So glad you are still enjoying War and Peace. Ulysses is on my TBR too, it’s been there since uni (so a good few years now…). I may have to add The Night Manager to the TV list as well as the book list… I read The Vegetarian last year and loved it, it was probably my weirdest book of the year- but I like a little weirdness in my life!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks so much! Time has flown – it certainly doesn’t feel like it’s been four years.
      The Night Manager (tv show) is getting RAVE reviews. I hope it’s as good as I want it to be – I love the book and there appear to be a few differences in the tv show, so hopefully it all still works.
      I think I bought my copy of Ulysses sometime last year (it could have been the year before even) – it’s a scary looking book. But I think if we can read War and Peace we can read anything!

      Liked by 1 person

    • To be honest I’m much less excited about it now after seeing your sweet giveaway skills.
      At least my mum will enter my competition I guess hahaha.

      Like

  4. Love the new glasses, very bookish!

    Great reads for me from Sri Lanka and South Korea with Nayomi Munaweera’s What Lies Between Us and Han Kang’s Human Acts. Unforgettable both.

    Like

    • Thanks! I feel like they really bring out my inner nerd 🙂
      Han Kang seems to be everywhere at the moment; mostly it’s The Vegetarian I’m seeing, but it’s great to know that she has some more excellent books out there!

      Like

  5. Glad to hear you’re enjoying War and Peace!
    It sounds like you have a busy time coming up – good luck with your move!

    Like

    • Thanks! I really should have already started packing, or at least sorting stuff, but I really don’t want to. So I’m going to put it off for as long as I can.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! I was hoping at least one person would find that funny, so thanks 🙂 Cute isn’t really the right word, owlish would be more accurate. But they look MUCH better than the ones I had before – they basically looked like I was underlining my eyebrows.

      Like

  6. Have you seen any of The Night Manager yet? It is really, really good!
    Good luck with the move (always a little stressful!)
    I’m hosting Reading Ireland Month, so I have a BUSY month of reading and reviewing ahead…

    Like

    • No it hasn’t started here in Australia yet – only a couple more weeks to go. I’m so excited for it!
      I’ve seen a couple of people participating in Reading Ireland – I hope I see some James Joyce ‘Ulysses’ floating around. I have it in my TBR Towers and I’m a bit scared of it, so I need some encouragement!

      Like

  7. I am so glad you are reading ‘War and Peace’. You inspire me to give it a try.

    I hope the moving will not cause too much trouble, and the books are sure going to find a good spot in your new place.

    Many congratulations on becoming four, and I look forward to knowing more about the giveaway. 🙂

    Have a great March!

    Like

    • Definitely the best thing about moving is the potential that I will move to a house that has room for a proper bookcase. At the moment my books are just wherever they’ll fit!

      I hope you have a great March as well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Good luck on moving 🙂 I’m sure it’ll be..*ahem* well certainly not fun, but at least workable and fun to have a new place to decorate! Also I did NOT know you were also a big John Le Carre fan! I adore everything that came out of his pen, but I haven’t actually read the Night Manager yet, so I’ll definitely get on that asap and then watch the show ^_^ Also congrats on four years!

    Like

    • You have to read The Night Manager – it’s one of my favourite le Carre books. Of all the other le Carre books I’ve only read all the George Smiley books and ‘A Most Wanted Man’, but I have at least another half dozen in my TBR Towers – I can’t wait to read them. I love his writing – it’s so subtle and twisty. A slow burn for sure.
      I’m really not looking forward to moving, but I hope to end up somewhere that has some room for a decent bookcase. That’s the only shining light in the whole exercise!

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Congrats on a successful month, as well as on four years of posts!

    I hope uni goes well, but you seem to have that under control.

    For me, February was a pretty poor reading month, as well as my version of your March. Work, general going-ons, and all that. I read DFW’s “The Broom of the System” which was great, but Tom McCarthy’s “C” both slowed me down and killed my enthusiasm. March will be better.

    I’m pretty confused about all of these bookish things. I know WordPress and GoodReads, and I’ve tried to get more active on Twitter, but Instagram just stumps me. You kids and all your blasted avenues of social media.

    You’re incredibly brave for going through War and Peace twice. I’ve yet to do it once, but I may have to after your recommendation.

    Have a great month!

    Like

    • Yeah uni isn’t going so well – only my second day and I’m already procrastinating!
      You’re doing Julianne’s Weirdathon, aren’t you? That’ll surely mean a better March.
      I was a bit meh about getting Litsy – I don’t really need another app. I don’t love it yet, and I think it needs a bit of work (there’s A LOT going on with it), but I’m definitely warming to it. Probably my favourite feature (aside from looking at photos of other people’s book!) is that you can review books on there, but you have a 250 character limit. Much better than the at times rambling reviews on Goodreads – I like that they are succinct and to the point. AND you don’t absolutely have to upload a photo if you don’t want to.

      Like

      • Don’t worry–you’re right on track. There was always that point in the middle of the semester where I would think, “Damn. I can’t do this. That’s it. I’m dropping out and living under the bridge.”

        Yep–I’ll be in the weird-a-thon and taking part in it. It’s always a lot easier to read when you’re sort of accountable in that way. It makes it more interesting.

        So it’s sort of like a book-centered Instagram+Twitter? Yep, concision is key in the days of short attention spans (which is in no way a slight to modern life, but just a factual observation).

        Like

        • I read your debate against Cass this morning – I’m SO glad I wasn’t up against either of you guys. If it was a real-life debate I probably would have sweated profusely, mumbled a bit, then walked off stage. Congratulations on your win!

          I think Litsy is more like Instagram+Goodreads, with a bit of Twitter thrown in. You can like posts, add books to your “stack” as either read/to read, and just generally track books and comment on other people’s posts.
          There are three different post formats – reviews, quotes, and blurbs. I’m a bit hazy on the point of the last one; I think it would be most useful as a “here’s what I’m reading at the moment” type post, as that functionality isn’t available. All in all, I like it. But as I said I think it has a long way to go before it overtakes Goodreads – a site that I’m only just now discovering lots of people don’t actually like.

          Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

