Books, Features, Reading, Reading Challenges, Updates
Comments 14

Reading Challenge Update // February 2016

It’s time for another update on the three reading challenges I’m participating in this year (I first wrote about them here if you’re interested). All of the books basically fall under the #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks challenge, but for the sake of tracking eBooks and physical books, I’m keeping them separate.

I spent zero dollars on books this month which is excellent. I was a bit premature when I wrote that first sentence two weeks out from the end of February, for on the second last day of the month I purchased a book. I’ll do better in March. This month I also got some ARCs from NetGalley, so I need to work on not hitting the ‘request’ button on that website and I borrowed one book from the library, which was naughty, but it was a book for the Read Harder Challenge so it’s completely acceptable. Here’s what I read:

The ‘Clean Your Reader’ Challenge

I’ve done much better with the eBooks this month, after a terrible start last month. The eBooks I read were:

  • Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
  • The Murdered Banker by Augusto De Angelis
  • The Art of Reading by Damon Young
  • All These Perfect Strangers by Aoife Clifford
  • The Snow Queen by Hans Christian Andersen
  • Messages from A Lost World: Europe on the Brink by Stefan Zweig

So far my total eBooks read for this challenge is: 9

#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks

Whoops. The only one of my own books I read this month (aside from a reread of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, which I’m not counting for this challenge) was War & Peace, and I haven’t even finished it yet.

So far I’ve read 4 of my own damn books.

The “Read Harder” Challenge

I crossed three tasks off the list:

  • Read the first book in a series by a person of colour: The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf by Ambelin Kwaymullina.
  • Read a collection of essays: Messages from A Lost World by Stefan Zweig
  • Read a book that was adapted into a movie, then watch the movie. Debate which is better: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (my debate with myself will be posted soonish)

Number of tasks completed: 7/24


It’s not too late to sign up for these challenges! Click on the links below to join in:

Clean Your Reader
#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks
Read Harder

Are you participating in any reading challenges? How are you going so far?

14 Comments

  1. Pingback: I’ve Decided to #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks – Sorry, I'm Booked

  2. It looks like we’re both handling the challenges with the same degree of success. I thought February was going to be brilliant, too, and then I stumbled on two new bookstores, both with major sales, in the last two weekends of the month. Oops. But I have read some of my own books, so at least it’s a step in the right direction!

    Also…can’t wait for the debate with yourself on Goblet of Fire!! 🙂

    Like

    • Haha. It’s so difficult to not buy something when it’s right there. As long as I don’t go into bookstores I’m ok, and I basically delete emails from booksellers without reading them. We just need to stay inside and off the internet and we’ll be ok (we’re going to fail badly).
      My “debate” will be posted next week. It’s so silly – I did it in infographic form. I had lots of fun making it! Too much fun actually…

      Liked by 1 person

    • I agonised over the purchase for about 5 minutes before I bought it as well. My need to pay money for a book won out in the end. IT’S SO HARD TO SAY NO!

      Like

  3. Oh, poo. You’re doing great, especially with the Read Harder challenge! I too got a bunch of ARCs last month (oops) and picked up two books during my trip to NYC. C’est la vie.

    I’m doing OK with reading my own physical books but really need to get back to my Kindle for Clean Your Reader. I’m hoping that Julianne’s Weirdathon will help – I’ve got lots of odd ebooks.

    Like

    • Haha. It’s so difficult to say no when the books are RIGHT THERE. I got another one on Thursday night, but it was at an author talk and he was doing a signing afterwards, so I felt like it was completely ok for me to make a purchase.
      I think I have maybe one or two weird books on my iPad, but I don’t think I’m going to get to them this month. Oh well.

      Like

    • You should definitely give it a go. Even though I didn’t get through any of my own books this month, it’s been nice to see my TBR Towers very slowly diminish in height.

      Like

  4. You are doing great with all the challenges. 🙂 I loved ‘Read harder’. Let me see if I can sign up too.

    The toughest of all is #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks. 😉

    Like

    • It’s so tough. I was doing so well until last weekend – I hadn’t purchased any books for about 6 weeks. I’ll do better in coming months though…hopefully.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m also doing the Read Your Own Damn Books challenge and so far, doing pretty well. I’ve set myself strict rules about buying books this year (essentially, I’m not) and also about how much I hit the request button n Netgalley (allowing myself 12 ARCs). So far, my self-imposed rules are working. But there’s still a way to go…

    Like

    • NetGalley is the worst. It’s like it isn’t quite as bad getting books from there because they’re free. But really they are going to be my downfall. The not purchasing of books I’ve been pretty ok with – this was my first one in about 6 weeks, which is pretty good I think. If I can just stay out of bookstores I’ll be ok.
      You sound like you’re doing well though – hopefully you can keep it up, even if it’s for another three months to June and then give yourself a reward.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Nicole.Ilene says

    I should probably do the read my own challenge since I have too many sitting on my shelves unread haha

    Liked by 1 person

Write Your Thoughts Here

