Blogging, Books, Competitions, Reading
Comments 25

The Bits & Books Blogiversary (GIVEAWAY ALERT)!

March 31st marks four years since my very first post on this blog (I wrote about The Hunger Games because that’s what folks were reading back in the day; here’s my review, typos and all, and look how I cute I was scoring a book out of ten). To everyone who has visited my blog at some point over the last few years, thank you!

cheers

For the last three years I’ve let my blogiversary slip by relatively unnoticed, but this is the first year that I’ve felt truly entrenched in the blogging community, the last 18 months especially. So I thought I’d mark the occasion with a blogiversary celebration! How am I celebrating?

I’M DOING A GIVEAWAY!

It’s been 46 13 days since I last spent money on a book, but since I can’t get one for myself (book buying ban), I thought I’d splash out and get one (or more) for one of you guys! I was going to just do a giveaway with no bells and whistles, but Julianne’s #Weirdathon for her own blogiversary inspired me to put some effort in. Also, I want to make you work for your books. So we’re having a little treasure hunt.

Here’s what to do:

  1. Below are a bunch of clues for four different books that I’ve written about on this blog. They’re four that I’ve loved a lot, that have stuck with me, or that I want to pressure you into reading. You might need to do some googling to put the clues together, then using the handy Review Index, search for the title of the book to see if it’s there (you’ll be able to get the links for the posts here as well). It’ll be a post dedicated solely to that book – so not Teaser Tuesday/Top Ten Tuesday posts.
  2. Then click on the Rafflecopter button below and follow the instructions there to submit your answers – you’ll need to include the title of the book, and the link for the post about that book on my blog.

For every correctly identified pairing of blog post and book you’ll get an entry into a draw to win up to AUD$40 worth of books from Book Depository –Β  so you have up to four chances at winning! The competition is an international one and open to anyone who knows how to google stuff and click on links. If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment below (but not the answers to the clues!).

THE CLUES

Book one

This book is a biography by an Australian author and was first published in 2011. This is the book that kicked off my love for Antarctica and reading about Antarctic exploration. The subject of this biography once graced the Aussie $100 note.

Book two

This book was first published in 1998 and is a biography by a British author who happens to have the same surname as Sam and Dean. This biography is not just about a person though – it’s also about the creation of the Oxford English Dictionary. I was lucky enough to meet the author and have this book signed a couple of weeks ago.

Book three

First published in 1955, this was a fairly recent read for me. The author is American, and this psychological thriller was adapted for the screen in the late ’90s and starred Jude Law. The main character is excellent and is a somewhat relatable sociopath.

Book four

This book was first published in 1993 and is by a British person who is possibly my absolute favourite author. It’s a spy thriller that has been adapted for television and one of the main characters is “the worst man in the world”.

GiveawayButton


IMPORTANT STUFF
  • I’ll be accepting entries until 11:59pm AEDT (that’s Sydney, Australia time) on March 31st.
  • Your answer must include theΒ title of the book and the link to the book’s post on this blog to be eligible for the competition.
  • Book Depository must ship free to your country of residence (you can check here for that).
  • The winner can pick ANY books they like up to the value of AUD$40 – I will purchase them and have them sent to you direct.
25 Comments

  1. Pingback: The round up // March 2016 | Bits & Books

  2. Pingback: Book Review – ‘The Vegetarian’ | Bits & Books

    • Thanks! I didn’t think it was too much work – I just thought about how much effort I’d be bothered to go to for free books and went from there! Good luck with the comp πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Why you should read ‘Maestra’ | Bits & Books

  4. Pingback: Book vs Film: ‘Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire’ | Bits & Books

  5. This was SO MUCH FUN and taught me about a bunch of books I hadn’t heard of (except one, but I didn’t really know what it was about). THANK YOU and congratulations!! You’re a rockstar

    Like

    • YAY! Thanks for entering. I tried to make it the same level of effort as I’d be bothered to go to (so, not TOO much). Good luck with the competition – hopefully your prize winning skills come in handy πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Love it! I almost totally messed up because one of the books has a different title in the US versus the UK (and evidently Australia!), but I RALLIED. And I’d like to add that I got two of them right away, and I was unduly pleased with myself. Happy, happy, happy blogging birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha – I think I know the exact one you mean. I forgot it had a different title in the US. I probably should have mentioned that in the clue (but if you’d have put the US title I would have accepted that as well). Good luck and thanks for entering!

      Like

  7. Pingback: Teaser Tuesday – ‘The Night Manager’ | Bits & Books

  8. Ahhhhh so fun! I can’t wait to get Googling. Happy blogiversary. πŸ™‚ So glad you’re entrenched in our little weirdo world! It wouldn’t be the same without you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! I’d forgotten how many great books I’d read until I went back through them all to do this post. It was hard to whittle it down to four.
      Good luck with the competition πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Congratulations on your blogiversary πŸ™‚ And might I just say this is such a fun way to do a giveaway!

    Like

    • Haha thanks! I was worried it’d be too much effort for people but I went with it anyway!
      Good luck with the competition πŸ™‚

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

