Book vs Film, Books, Movies, Reading
Comments 13

Book vs Film: ‘Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire’

One of the tasks in the Book Riot Read Harder Challenge was to read a book that had been adapted into a film, and then watch the film! As I was already doing a reread of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, I thought I’d use it as an excuse for a rewatch of the film adaptation (like I needed one).

The Goblet of Fire is my absolute favourite of all the Harry Potter books and it had been a while since I’d watched the film. So long, in fact, that I’d forgotten how very different the two were and I am now reminded of why so many people dislike this adaptation so much. There are lots of differences and I could have written the longest post ever about it, but I decided to just pick a few things.

Winner badgeBelow is my very first Piktochart! That website is SO MUCH FUN and I will be looking for any excuse to use it again (maybe another ‘Book vs Film’ post – who knows?). Anyway, I’ve compared each category and the winner of each is marked with a little winner’s badge. Then it’s all totalled up at the end to find the winner. It’s all a bit silly and fun, but if you feel very passionately that I’m wrong about the winner, then feel free to leave a comment!

book-vs-film-h-p-and-the-goblet-of-fire

13 Comments

  1. Loved this post, book four’s my favourite too 🙂 Was always gutted they didn’t show the match! Always thought the film would be a bit confusing for a non-book reader as well, there was so much they didn’t explain!

    Like

    • I agree. Especially with Barty Crouch Jr. escaping from Azkaban – it’s a pretty high security place and he just seemed to be able to get out with little to no effort; I’m sure it wasn’t explained at all. If I hadn’t read the book, I’d have been wondering about it for sure.

      Like

    • I’m not really. I saw another blogger was doing the challenge so I thought I’d jump on board as well. I have so much stuff to keep up with that I haven’t got around to checking out the Book Riot site properly, but it’s on my to-do list!

      Like

  2. Book is definitely better than the film in this case. Piktochart looks really cool– I’ve never heard about it! Where was this while I was still in college and needed infographics made?

    Like

    • I was thinking the same thing. I was I was studying something now that needed charts and things, but unfortunately it’s aaaaaalllll about the essays for me. I’d be much more enthusiastic about my assessments if I could use Piktochart.
      I saw lots of bloggers at the end of the year using it to show their reading stats, so I’m going to try and do that this year. I’m disturbingly excited about it…

      Liked by 1 person

    • So they GO to the World Cup in the film, and they show the teams coming out, but they don’t actually show the match. Which really annoys me.
      And I want to Piktochart EVERYTHING. I can’t wait to do a special reading stats post at the end of the year (but really I’ll probably do a mid-year one too).

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

