Books, Reading, Top Ten Tuesday
Comments 16

Top Ten Tuesday: My last 10 five-star reads

Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday (hosted by The Broke and the Bookish) is to post about our last 10 five-star reads (or something similar along those lines). I’ve been less free with my five-starring this year, so some of these date all the way back to the end of last year.

I read three ‘Harry Potter’ books during this time, but I decided not to count those and just went with new to me books rather than rereads. Here they are, counting down from ten to one, starting with the most recently read.

10.

9781401248192Watchmen by  Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons. What didn’t I like about this? The art was fantastic, the writing was fantastic, and really that’s all you need in a graphic novel. There’s a reason this has been as popular for as long as it has and if you’ve been thinking about reading it for a while, stop thinking and start doing. If you want to watch the film you should do that too, but just as it gets towards the big reveal of the master plan you should switch off and read the novel because the ending is TERRIBLE.

9. Messages from a Lost World: Europe on the Brink by Stefan Zweig. I don’t think I could put into words again how much I loved this and how much it spoke to me. I think I elaborated on these points fairly well in my review of it.

8. AGodInRuinsA God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson. This one was super contentious for me and could have easily been a three, four, or five star rating. I didn’t love most of the book – everything just sort of happened. But then it got to the end and there were a few pages that put everything before in a whole new light, and left me crying my eyes out. It was a really profound and heartbreaking moment, hence the five stars.

7. The Talented Mr Ripley by Patricia Highsmith. Look. I don’t want to say that I’m obsessed with this book, but to say that I like it would be a complete understatement. Tom Ripley speaks to all the dark places within me, which I find both incredibly frightening and exhilarating at the same time (don’t worry, I’m not likely to go on a stabbing spree any time soon). [My full thoughts on the book are here.]

6. TheNorthWater CoverThe North Water by Ian McGuire. This book blew me away and although I read it at the end of last year, it’s still the frontrunner for my favourite new release of 2016 (it came out in February). It’s dark, gritty, murderous, and just beautifully written. Highly recommended if you like tales set on the high seas and don’t mind loads of swearing. [My full thoughts on the book are here.]

5. Shining: The Story of a Lucky Man by Abdi Aden. Sometimes you read a book that just completely fills you with hope – this was one of those books. It’ll make you happy, sad and angry, and wonder what the hell is wrong with the world. But it will leave you with hope. [My full thoughts on the book are here.]

4. TheNaturalWayofThingsThe Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood. If I could shove this book into the hands of every single person I meet, I would. And the Australian public agrees with me – this book has had rave reviews from just about anyone who’s read it and it’s been shortlisted for a bunch of Aussie book prizes/won some of those prizes.  Needless to say, you HAVE to read this book. [My full thoughts on the book are here.]

3. Career of Evil by Robert Galbraith. This one has easily been my most favourite of the three ‘Cormoran Strike’ books so far. It’s much darker than the first two and thankfully rescues the series from the threat of going stale. A VERY highly recommended read. [My full thoughts on the book are here.]

2. DearReaderDear Reader by Paul Journal. This book was so lovely and so relatable to me as a reader – which means that you who are reading this will probably relate to it as well. [My full thoughts on the book are here.]

1. Undermajordomo Minor by Patrick deWitt. If I was going to rank these in order of which I liked the best of all my five star reads, this most likely would have been number one. I just adore Patrick deWitt’s writing – if I had to pick someone who I could write like, it would probably be him. I’ve only ever read two things by him, but he’s easily one of my favourite writers and I would pick up any new releases by him without any hesitation at all. [My full thoughts on the book are here.]

16 Comments

  1. Yay for The Natural Way of Things! I’m thinking I need to check out The North Water given that I loved Rush Oh! so much.
    A God in Ruins has been on my TBR list for soooooo long.

    Like

    • Definitely read The North Water – I thought it was so amazing. The writing is brilliant and it’s written kind of sparingly – like there isn’t heaps of stuff in there that doesn’t need to be in there; everything is relevant (if that makes sense). I very nearly gave up on A God in Ruins. It wasn’t repetitive like Life After Life, but it was quite slow moving. But it came good in the end! I think I stuck it out because of Teddy – he was my favourite in Life After Life so it was nice to follow a story about him.

      Liked by 1 person

    • It shouldn’t be too far off for you guys – I saw its first US review the other day so I don’t think you’ll have to wait much longer.

      Like

  2. Watchmen is the only graphic novel I have ever read. I’m not sure the format is enough to have me wanting to read others, but the book was just amazingly compelling.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oooh, Watchmen! I never would have read this if a book club I’m in hadn’t chosen it, but I really liked it. I even discovered that graphic novels can work on an e-reader too, as I bought a kindle version and read on my iPad’s kindle app, which allows you to zoom in on a specific frame if the text isn’t big enough on the default display. Great story too. 🙂

    Like

    • I read loads of Marvel comics on my Ipad and I love being able to zoom in on the individual panels.
      I’m glad you liked Watchmen too! I wish I’d read it sooner – I could have had so many rereads done by now.

      Like

  4. High praise for Patrick deWitt! I loved Sisters Brothers, but I haven’t read this one yet.
    The North Water and The Natural Way of Things are the other 2 on here that I can’t wait to read!

    Like

    • deWitt’s new one is the best – I think I might have liked it a little more than The Sisters Brothers. I think The Natural Way of Things will be in Canada towards the end of this month (maybe). I saw the first US review of it the other day, so definitely not long to go now!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Now I’m finally earning money again, I think I’m going to get The Natural Way of Things as a present to myself – it’s been on my list since your review 🙂

    Like

    • Yes do it! It’s so amazing. I honestly don’t know how Charlotte Wood wrote it without wanting to hit something/someone.

      Like

  6. I recently read Carol by Highsmith and enjoyed it so much that it pushed Mr Ripley to the top of my TBR pile!

    Glad to see The Natural Way of All Things receiving loving support all round the world and I LOVE the cover on The North Water – sounds tempting 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. This is a great list. Thank you for sharing. I haven’t read any of these. I intend to read ‘Dear Reader’ sometime soon. It sounds amazing. 🙂

    Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

