Books, Features, Reading, Reading Challenges, Updates
Comments 10

Reading Challenge Update // March 2016

It’s time for another update on the three reading challenges I’m participating in this year (I first wrote about them here if you’re interested). All of the books basically fall under the #ReadMyOwnDamnBooks challenge, but for the sake of tracking eBooks and physical books, I’m keeping them separate.

This month has not been good for the challenges.

The ‘Clean Your Reader’ Challenge

The end of March also marked the official end of the ‘Clean Your Reader’ challenge and this month was a complete and utter FAILURE. I’ll continue marking off my eBooks on the challenge page, but there’s definitely going to be less focus on these (not that there’s been a lot of focus anyway). The eBooks I read were:

My total eBooks read for this challenge is: 10 (so sad)

#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks

Aside from rereads (which don’t count for this challenge), I read no books this month that were purchased prior to December 31st, 2015.

So far I’ve read 4 of my own damn books.

The “Read Harder” Challenge

I crossed three tasks off the list:

  • Read a play: Henry VI: Part One by William Shakespeare
  • Read a book with a main character that has a mental illness: The Vegetarian by Han Kang
  • Read a book originally published in the decade you were born: Watchmen by Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons

Number of tasks completed so far: 10/24

Non-challenge books read:

These are books I borrowed from the library, are books I own and am rereading, or that I “accidentally” purchased after December 31st, 2015.

  • Crash by J.G. Ballard (purchased this year)
  • Maestra by L.S. Hilton (won in a competition)
  • The Night Manager by John le Carré
It’s not too late to sign up for these challenges! Click on the links below to join in:

#ReadMyOwnDamnBooks
Read Harder

Are you participating in any reading challenges? How are you going so far?

10 Comments

  1. Pingback: The round up // March 2016 | Bits & Books

  2. My main focus this year is on Own Damn Books – the other challenges I’m doing (Foodies, What’s in a Name) are sourced from what I already own. Although I’m doing well overall, March was derailed with reading the Stella Prize shortlist. I’ll be back on track in a fortnight when prize-hoopla is over.

    Like

    • Yeah I need to shift my focus to My Own Damn Books – although I just packed most of them up to move, so that might be a bit hard. I did leave the boxes unsealed though, so at least I thought ahead a little!
      Did you see Charlotte Wood is talking at the Sydney Writers Festival? I really want to go but I’m already going to see Gloria Steinem and Damon Young – maybe if there’s tickets for Charlotte left on next payday I’ll grab one!

      Liked by 1 person

      • If you get a chance to see Wood, grab it. Apart from being an incredibly generous and engaging speaker, the ‘behind the scenes’ stuff about Natural Way is fascinating.

        Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

