Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Comments 5

Teaser Tuesday // The Turn of the Screw

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Jen at Books and A Beat. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

TheTurnoftheScrew

Firstly, let’s take some time to appreciate how creepy this cover is. What is it with dolls? Why are they so freaky? Can we not have them on book covers anymore? So many irrelevant questions. On to the book.

This is the first book by Henry James I’ve ever read (yes, I’m very late to the party) and I’m really digging it so far. Probably my favourite part has been the prologue – it sets up a really spooky creepy story and builds loads of suspense in only a few pages. Hopefully I haven’t set my expectations too high for the rest of the book. I’m really excited to see what shenanigans the two children (who sound like they have the looks to be in The Village of the Damned) get up to. Here are some sentences :

“It was as if, while I took in, what I did take in, all the rest of the scene had been stricken with death. I can hear again, as I write, the intense hush in which the sounds of the evening dropped.”

What are you reading this week?

5 Comments

  1. I love this book although know that it’s not really representative of the rest of his work (which are more like drawing room dramas). I love his writing but can see why some find it a trudge.

    Like

    • I just finished it yesterday. I liked the actual story, but I didn’t like how it was written. The writing from the prologue of the story was really different to the rest of it – it was ok to start with, but just got really draining by the end and I found it hard to follow what was happening.

      I liked the other stories that were in the book though. The narrative voice of these were (mostly) similar to that of the prologue, so they were much easier to read.

      I’d definitely read James again, but I’d probably thumb through the book to see how it was written before I committed to it. And do all of his characters reach conclusions based on no discernible facts in every book? That was a recurring thing I noticed that made me laugh. There was a lot of, “I have no evidence for this, but this is clearly what is happening”.

      Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

