Books, Reading, Teaser Tuesday
Comments 4

Teaser Tuesday // The Magicians

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by Jen at Books and A Beat. Anyone can play along! All you have to do is grab the book you’re currently reading, open to a random page and share two sentences from that page. But make sure you don’t share any spoilers!

TheMagiciansCoverI’ve been wanting to read this book for ages (basically since everyone started blogging about it), and then I accidentally on purpose started watching the TV adaptation and I reeeaaalllyy like it (Penny is my favourite – mostly because he’s surly). So when my Book Bingo card happened to include a square for a book involving magic, it seemed like a good excuse to make a trip to the library (yes – I was good and didn’t just go buy it).

I’m just over halfway through and I really like. And it’s really different from the TV show so there hasn’t been a whole bunch of stuff ruined for me. There’s not enough Penny (at least not the TV embodiment of him) for my liking, but oh well.

Here are some sentences :

“They made an odd little tribe: Alice sitting hunched over the table; Quentin sprawled on the couch; Penny pacing in circles or sitting cross-legged on the floor. The odious Popper books were hexed in such a way that you could practice in front of them and they would tell you if you’d screwed up or not by turning green (good) or red (bad), although annoyingly they wouldn’t tell you how you’d screwed up.”

What are you reading this week?

4 Comments

  1. Oooooh, I really like those sentences. The Magicians series is one that I’ve toyed with the idea of, but I’ve never made the choice to finally sit down and try it. Also, I read a particular odious quotation by Lev Grossman in a recent NYT article, and it’s kind of turned me off the guy. Maybe I’ll come back around, we’ll see. Those sentences are tempting me.

    Like

    • Was the Grossman quote something to do with boobs? Based on his book I’m of the opinion that he’s a boobs man (and I said as much in my little review of the book).
      I have mixed feelings about the book – it was enjoyable to read, but had too many similarities to Narnia and Potter for me.

      Like

      • It was actually a comment about how a fellow white writer was “fearless” for deciding to write an alternate history in which American slavery never ended from the perspective of a free black man. Just how clueless do you have to be to say something like that? Why is that “fearless”?

        I only skimmed your recent post but saw the 3-star rating for this one, so I suppose I won’t feel too bad about not having gotten to it yet. 🙂

        Also LOL at the boobs thing.

        Like

        • Seriously – the tv show is much better. But yeah, Grossman as a person doesn’t appeal to me very much – and he shines through a lot in his writing, which kind of put me off the book a bit. I want to read the rest of the series, but I’m not in any kind of rush about it.

          Like

Write Your Thoughts Here

